If you're not sure where to start your research this guide will point you to some of the best starting points. Don't forget, you can always get in touch directly with any questions you may have. For ASL course listings and descriptions see the undergraduate calendar.
The following is just a small selection of the books we have on American Sign Language, sign languages in general, and deaf culture.
If a print book you are interested in is already checked out, use the "Hold/Request" link to make sure you get the book next.
Tennant, R. A. & Gluszak Brown, M. (2010). The American Sign Language handshape dictionary
Call Number: HV2465.T46 2010, see availability
Valli, C. (2005) The Gallaudet dictionary of American Sign Language.
Call Number: HV2475.G35 2005, see availability
Bailey, C. S. & Dolby, K. (2002). The Canadian dictionary of ASL
Call Number: HV2475.C36 2002 , see availability
Brentari, D. (2010). Sign Languages
Call Number: P117.S528 2010 , see availability
Marschark, M. & Spencer, P. E. (2003). The Oxford handbook of deaf studies, language, and education.
Newer edition in print, Call Number: HV2380.O88 2011, see availability
Mathur, G. & Napoli, D. J. (2011). Deaf around the world: the impact of language.
Call Number: HV2474.D43 2011, see availability
Orfanidou, E, Woll, B, & Morgan, G. (2015). Research methods in sign language studies: a practical guide
Pfau, R. , Steinbach, M. , & Woll, B. (2012). Sign language: an international handbook.
Call Number: HV2474.S539 2012, see availability
Tabak, J. (2006). Significant gestures: a history of American Sign Language.
Call Number: HV2474.T3 2006, see availability
Liddell, S. K. (2003). Grammar, gesture, and meaning in American Sign Language.
also in print, Call Number: HV2474.L53 2003, see availability
Neidle, C. et al. (2000). The syntax of American Sign Language.
Call Number: HV2474.S994, see availability
Valli, C. et al (2011). Linguistics of American Sign Language: an introduction.
Call Number HV2474.V35 2011, see availability (older edition also available)
Sociolinguistics, Discourse, Pragmatics
Hoza, J. (2007). It's not what you sign, it's how you sign it: Politeness in American Sign Language.
Call Number: HV2474.H69 2007, see availability
Lucas, C. (2001). Sociolinguistic variation in American sign language.
Call Number: HV2474.L832 2001, see availability
Roy, C. B. (2011). Discourse in signed languages.
Call Number: HV2474.D58 2011, see availability
If you're looking for journal articles for an essay related to deaf culture, sign languages etc. try searching these databases:
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) : for more linguistics related articles (e.g. grammar of sign language, syntax, morphology etc) as well as other language related aspects
- ERIC: for articles related to teaching and learning of sign language and deaf education in general
- Sociological Abstracts: for articles related to deaf culture and society
- Scholars Portal Journals: a full-text collection of thousands of scholary journals, covers all subject areas
- Web of Science Core Collection : Don't let the name fool you: covers social sciences topics too. You'll be able to see if other articles have cited the ones you find in your search
- To search for relevant videos in our collection: Do a Keyword search in Summon. Once you get your results, limit the "Content Type" to either "Streaming video" or "video recording" . (NOTE: you will probably have to click on the "More" under Content Type to see the video options)
- American Sign Language. Level 1
- An introductory course in American Sign Language
- Lending a hand: Sign languages and the deaf
- Beyond Silence (German with English subtitles) Call Number: D5006, see availability
- Koko: a talking gorilla (DVD) Call Number: D5750, see availability
- Children of a lesser god (DVD) Call Number: D5005, see availability
- SigningSavvy: look up words, see videos of sign for that word
- ASLU: links to lessons, practice exercises...
- American Sign Language Browser Videos of thousands of ASL signs. Free.
- ASLPro.com Videos dictionaries of ASL signs and other learning tools.
- Search on YouTube for American Sign Language or American Sign Language Lessons, for example:
- Marlee Signs: free iOS app, lessons with Marlee Matlin, Academy Award winning deaf-actress
- TunesU: has a number of sign language related video courses
Associations & Organizations:
- American Sign Language Teachers Association
- Association of Visual Language Interpreters of Canada
- Canadian Association of Educators of the Deaf and Hard-of-Hearing
- Canadian Association of the Deaf
- Deaf Culture Centre: Canadian Cultural Society of the Deaf
Canadian Hard of Hearing Association
- Ontario Assocation for the Deaf
- National Association of the Deaf (US)
- National Educational Association of Disabled Students (NEADS)
- Royal Assocation of Deaf People (UK)
- ASLinfo.com Articles on ASL, interpreting and Deaf culture, including links to helpful resources, mailing lists and more.
- Deaf-related Resources (Gallaudet University)
- Deaf-resource Library
- Subject-Based Deaf Community Resources (Rochester Institute of Technology)