This subject guide will assist you in finding books, journal articles, and websites, as well as assist you in developing your research skills.
Step #1: Get background information from handbooks, encyclopedias, dictionaries.
- Begin by defining exactly what you are searching for
- Select the keywords/synonyms in your topic
- Be specific when determining keywords/synonyms and terms to search
- Use the advanced interface of electronic databases and Internet search engines to help narrow your search
- Limit results in electronic databases to full-text or peer reviewed journals only
- Use Boolean Operators to connect search terms
- Take notes during your research to keep track of where you have been, keywords searched, what worked and what didn't, etc.
- Google search secrets [electronic resource] / Christa Burns and Michael P. Sauers.
Sources of Information
- Publication Cycle: to find primary and secondary sources of information, use tertiary sources of information: dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks. When a researcher publishes material, they follow the cycle clockwise. To find primary and secondary sources, follow the cycle anti clockwise.
- Core concepts in cultural anthropology / Robert Lavenda, Emily Schultz.
- International dictionary of anthropologists / compiled by Library-Anthropology Resource Group (LARG) ; Christopher Winters, general editor ; editorial board: Michele Calhoun ... [et al.]. [electronic resource]
- The Routledge dictionary of anthropologists / Gérald Gaillard ; translated by Peter James Bowman. [electronic resource]
- The SAGE Dictionary of Qualitative Inquiry [electronic resource]
- The Canadian encyclopedia = L'encyclopédie canadienne (use Google to search for Canadian Encyclopedia articles) [electronic resource]
- Companion encyclopedia of anthropology / edited by Tim Ingold. [electronic resource]
- Encyclopedia of anthropology / H. James Birx, editor. [electronic resource]
- Encyclopedia of cultural anthropology / editors, David Levinson, Melvin Ember.
- Encyclopedia of social and cultural anthropology / edited by Alan Barnard, Jonathan Spencer. [electronic resource]
- Gale Virtual Reference Library [electronic resource]
- International encyclopedia of the social & behavioral sciences / editor-in-chief: James D. Wright. [electronic resource]
- Oxford Reference Online: Premium [electronic resource]
- SAGE Knowledge Encyclopedias [electronic resource]
- The Sage encyclopedia of qualitative research methods [electronic resource]
- The SAGE Encyclopedia of Social Science Research Methods [electronic resource]
- 21st century anthropology : a reference handbook / editor, H. James Birx. [electronic resource]
- Doing visual ethnography / Sarah Pink. [electronic resource]
- Handbook of Latin American Studies: an annotated multilingual bibliography
- Handbook of methods in cultural anthropology / edited by H. Russell Bernard and Clarence C. Gravlee. [electronic resource]
- Handbook of the arts in qualitative research : perspectives, methodologies, examples, and issues / J. Gary Knowles, Ardra L. Cole. [electronic resource]
- Medical anthropology in ecological perspective / Ann McElroy and Patricia K. Townsend ; [with contributions by Pamela L. Erickson and others]. [electronic resource]
- The Routledge handbook of medical anthropology / edited by Lenore Manderson, Elizabeth Cartwright and Anita Hardon. [electronic resource]
- The SAGE Handbook of Visual Research Methods (Second Edition (Revised and Updated Edition)) [electronic resource]
Step #2: Once your topic is narrowly defined, select databases to find specific articles that have been published in journals.
- Academic OneFile: Includes more than 8000 journals with extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature, and other subject; intended primarily for academic researchers. Excellent source of peer-reviewed, fulltext articles.
- Annual Reviews: Provides access to review articles in the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences.
- Anthro Plus: Comprehensive international coverage in most branches of anthropology and archaeology, folklore, material culture and interdisciplinary studies.
- AnthroSource: Full text access publications of the American Anthropological Association, including American Anthropologist, American Ethnologist, Cultural Anthropology, Journal of Linguistic Anthropology, Medical Anthropology Quarterly, and others.
- Basic Search eHRAF World Cultures Tutorial on YouTube
- eHRAF World Cultures: (Human Relations Area Files) cross-cultural and ethnographic database containing descriptive information on cultures (based on the Outline of World Cultures -OWC) and ethnic groups from around the world.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online: is a tool for the social sciences and humanities.
- Project MUSE: A collection of scholarly journals in the arts, humanities and social sciences.
- PubMed: Provides access to citations covering all areas of medicine and associated fields.
- Sage Research Methods: coverage spans the full range of research methods used in the social and behavioral sciences and resources to help with writing a research question, conducting a literature review, choosing a research method, collecting and analyzing data, and writing up the findings.
- WorldCat: A union catalogue of libraries worldwide.
- Ebsco databases: Databases available through the EBSCOhost interface. Multiple databases can be selected and searched simultaneously. Click on EBSCOhost Web.
- Ethnographic Video Online: for study of human culture and behavior
- JSTOR: Digital library of academic journals, books and primary sources.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online: a tool for the social sciences and humanities
Multidisciplinary databases with Canadian content
- AMERICAN JOURNAL OF SOCIOLOGY PEER REVIEWED [electronic resource]
- AMERICAN SOCIOLOGICAL REVIEW PEER REVIEWED [electronic resource]
- ANNALS OF TOURISM RESEARCH PEER REVIEWED [electronic resource]
- Annual Review of Sociology PEER REVIEWED [electronic resource]
- Cultural anthropology : journal of the Society for Cultural Anthropology. PEER REVIEWED [electronic resource]
- Cultural studies critical methodologies (Online) [electronic resource]
- Directory of Open Access Journals: An index to high quality, peer reviewed open access research journals, periodicals and their articles' metadata. Each journal must exercise peer-review with an editor and an editorial board or editorial review (particularly in the Humanities) carried out by at least two editors and/or report primary results of research or overviews of research results to a scholarly community
- Evolutionary Anthropology: Issues, News, and Reviews [electronic resource]. PEER REVIEWED
- Information Communication & Society PEER REVIEWED [electronic resource]
- Journal of applied quantitative methods [electronic resource]
- JOURNAL OF PEASANT STUDIES PEER REVIEWED [electronic resource]
- Qualitative sociology review : QSR [electronic resource]
- Socio-economic review [electronic resource].
- Sociological methods & research PEER REVIEWED [electronic resource]
- Google Scholar Metrics: Gender Studies
- Google Scholar Metrics: Sex & Sexuality
- Journal Citation Reports (JCR) from Web of Science: Provides access to citation data in order to aid the evaluation and comparison of scholarly journals
- Scimago Journal & Country rank - Gender Studies
- Ulrichsweb: is a source of bibliographic and access information for over 300,000 serials
Step #3: non-literary forms of representation in anthropology
Maps and images
- ArtStor Digital Library : provides access to 2.5+ million images of the world’s cultural heritage, all rights-cleared for use in education.
- Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection—Historical Maps -- Hosted by the University of Texas at Austin.
- Films in the Library
- Watmedia: please fill out our Interfilm Video Request form -- do not submit requests directly to Watmedia.
For more go to our listing of images databases.
Also consult our images "find" guide.
- An Anthropology of Images : Picture, Medium, Body / Hans Belting ; Translated by Thomas Dunlap.
- Experimental film and anthropology / edited by Arnd Schneider, Caterina Pasqualino.
- Photography and anthropology / Christopher Pinney. [electronic resource]
- Visual impact : culture and the meaning of images / Terence Wright. [electronic resource]
Step #4: Find books on your topic to gain greater depth and understanding.
Books and Serials in Anthropology are shelved at these locations in the Library of Congress system: GN1-890
We welcome your suggestions for books or other library materials you need for your study or research at Carleton.
Google Books >Anthropology
Suggested Subject Headings
- Anthropology -- African Studies
- Anthropology -- Digital Humanities
- Anthropology -- Ethnology. Social and cultural anthropology
- Anthropology -- Globalization, Culture and Power
- Anthropology -- Physical or Somatology
- Anthropology -- Political Economy
- Anthropology -- Prehistoric archaeology
- Start with Sage Research Methods, a comprehensive database of resources on research methods in the social sciences which includes:
- Creative teamwork [electronic resource] : developing rapid, site-switching ethnography / Pat Armstrong and Ruth Lowndes.
- David Mills and Jane Dyson Discuss Ethnography
- Doing research in cultural studies : an introduction to classical and new methodological approaches / Paula Saukko. [electronic resource}
- Indigenous research : theories, practices, and relationships / edited by Deborah McGregor, Jean-Paul Restoule, and Rochelle Johnston.
- Methods that matter [electronic resource] : integrating mixed methods for more effective social science research / edited by M. Cameron Hay.
- Mixed methods research [electronic resource] / Daphne Watkins and Deborah Gioia.
- Researching Multiracial Identity Using Ethnographic Methods
- Visual methods in social research / Marcus Banks & David Zeitlyn. [electronic resource]
- What is Netnography?
- Ethics and anthropology : ideas and practice / Carolyn Fluehr-Lobban. [electronic resource]
- Ethics for graduate researchers : a cross-disciplinary approach / edited by Cathriona Russell, Linda Hogan, and Maureen Junker-Kenny.
- Mixed Methods & Ethical Research with Children
- Research Ethics
- Research ethics [electronic resource] : a philosophical guide to the responsible conduct of research / Gary Comstock.
- The student's guide to research ethics / Paul Oliver. [electronic resource]
- An introduction to Descriptive & Inferential Statistics
- Data mining for the social sciences : an introduction / Paul Attewell and David B. Monaghan with Darren Kwong. [electronic resource]
- More statistical and methodological myths and urban legends / edited by Charles E. Lance, Robert J. Vandenberg.
- Practical Statistics: A Quick and Easy Guide to IBM® SPSS® Statistics, STATA, and Other Statistical Software [electronic resource]
- Social statistics for a diverse society / Chava Frankfort-Nachmias, University of Wisconsin, Anna Leon-Guerrero, Pacific Lutheran University.
- Statistics : a tool for social research / Joseph F. Healey (Christopher Newport University), Steven G. Prus (Carleton University) [electronic resource]
Step #5: Write down or store all the references you have consulted to include them in your bibliography of your research paper (e.g., Mendeley)
Style Guide for the Preparation of Essays (Carleton University Department of Sociology and Anthropology)
Citation searching is a technique to find scholarly clusters for a research topic. Take the citation for a key book or journal article and try to see who might have used that citation in their bibliography.
- Topic alerts - set up alerts in any category or sub-specialty and receive regular updates of the latest research.
- Citation Alerting -keep track of particular citations, to see if anyone is citing it in recent journals.
- You can set up a citation alert whenever you’re reading a full-text article by clicking on "Save as Citation Alert."
- Google Scholar
- For Cited Reference Search. Look at the link "cited by". Search for your "key" article. Check the link "cited by" right beneath the reference to that article
- "Citation alerts" - to avoid an overload of irrelevant stuff, set up an alert on the page where you list out "cited references"; captures a "wider" range of journals and also includes "book chapters" etc.
- How to do a Cited Reference Search tutorial [VIDEO 4 min 16 seconds]
- sshrc- list: Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council
- WatchThatPage: is a service that enables you to automatically collect new information from your favorite pages on the Internet
- Conference Alerts: Academic and professional conference listings by subject and region
- BrowZine: brings scholarly, academic journal content together from multiple publishers and platforms into a single place, where you can save your favorite journals, view the tables of contents, and read or save articles, as new issues are released
- Citation Management software: Zotero, Mendeley, EndNote... Learn how to use citation management software.
- Data & statistics information: locating statistical resources and information
- GIS (Geographic Information Systems): includes geospatial data and maps
- NVivo: a software package that helps with qualitative data analysis
- Scholarly publishing and open access: "Scholarly communication is the system through which research and other scholarly writings are created, evaluated for quality, disseminated to the scholarly community, and preserved for future use" - from Association of College & Research Libraries.
- Grey literature: defined as "information produced on all levels of government, academics, business and industry in electronic and print formats not controlled by commercial publishing" ie. where publishing is not the primary activity of the producing body." — ICGL Luxembourg definition, 1997. Expanded in New York, 2004
- Canadian Electronic Library from desLibris: Contains the full text of public policy documents from Canadian institutes, think-tanks and research groups
- Canadian Research Index: to find Canadian government publications
- IGO Search: IGO Search is a Google Custom Search Engine (CSE) that searches across IGO websites. It is a project of the International Documents Taskforce (IDTF) of the American Library Association (ALA)
Literature reviews and current awareness
- Annual Reviews: synthesize the vast amount of primary research literature and identify the principal contributions in each field.
- Dissertations and Theses Global: a comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present
- Dissertations and Theses@Carleton: Contains citations & abstracts for Carleton University Master’s and PhD theses as well as the full-text for theses from 1997-2013
- Carleton University's Institutional Repository: Open Access and other scholarly publications from Carleton University
- The composition of anthropology : how anthropological texts are written / edited by Morten Nielsen and Nigel Rapport.
- The craft of research / Wayne C. Booth, Gregory G. Colomb, Joseph M. Williams, Joseph Bizup, William T. FitzGerald. [electronic resource]
- Doing honest work in college : how to prepare citations, avoid plagiarism, and achieve real academic success / Charles Lipson. [electronic resource]
- Writing in anthropology : a brief guide / Shan-Estelle Brown, Rollins College.
- Writing in anthropology : the summary and the critique paper : a handbook for beginners and undergraduates / edited by Dorothy Ukaegbu.
Services for Graduate Students