Explore your topic
Introducing Omni- which makes it possible to search across many of the library's collections simultaneously. Including books, ebooks, journal titles, games, music, videos, government information, maps, and more. Omni doesn't search everything that the library owns or subscribes to so you will still need to search other resources to find everything that you need.
When to use Omni
- When starting research on a topic
- If you are not sure which databases to use
For assistance using Omni please contact the Research Help Desk.
Define and get an overview of your topic or find definitions of key terms and concepts.
- Archaeological method and theory : an encyclopedia / Linda Ellis (2000) CC75.A654
- The Cambridge encyclopedia of human evolution / Steve Jones (1992) GN281.C345
- Companion encyclopedia of archaeology / Graeme Barker (1999)
- The concise Oxford dictionary of archaeology / Timothy Darvill (2008) CC70.D37 2008
- Encyclopedia of archaeology : history and discoveries / Tim Murray (2001) CC100.E54 (vols. 1-3)
- Encyclopedia of historical archaeology / Orser, Charles E. (2002)
- Encyclopedia of human evolution and prehistory / Delson, Eric (2000) GN281.E53 2000
- The Edinburgh companion to ancient Greece and Rome / Edward Bispham, et. al. (2006) DE59.E3 2006
- The Oxford companion to Archaeology / Brian M. Fagan et. al. (1996) CC70.O96
- The Princeton encyclopedia of classical sites / Richard Stillwell, et. al. (1976) DE59.P7
- The world encyclopedia of archaeology / Aedeen Cremin (2007) CC70.W67 2007
Key Databases for Journal Articles
By connecting via Carleton Library, you will be able to seamlessly connect to the full-text of articles that are part of the library's collection.
Nestor is an international bibliography of Aegean studies, Homeric society, Indo-European linguistics, and related fields.
- An archaeological map of Hadrian's Wall / English Heritage (2010) MPL G5752.H3 2010 .E5
- Atlas of ancient archaeology / Jacquetta Hawkes (1974) MPA G1046.E15H3 1974
- The atlas of archaeology / K. Branigan (1982) MPA G1046.E15A798 1982
- Atlas of classical archaeology / M. I. Finley (1977) MPA G1046.E15A8 1977 c.3
- The atlas of past worlds : a comparative chronology of human history 2000 BC-AD 1500 / John Manley (1993) CC165.M32
- Atlas of the Valley of the Kings (online)
- Cultural atlas of Mesopotamia and the ancient Near East / Michael Roaf (1990) DS69.5.R62
- The digital archaeological atlas of the Holy Land (online)
- Digital Crete (online)
- Past worlds; the Times atlas of archaeology / Times Newspaper Limited (1988) MPA G1046.E15P3 1988
- The world atlas of archaeology / Michael Wood (1985) MPA G1046.E15G7313 1985
For more information and assistance, contact Sherri Sunstrum.
- Ancient City of Athens
A photographic archive of the archaeological and architectural remains of ancient Athens (Greece).
- Ancient world image bank (New York University)
The Ancient World Image Bank is a collaborative effort to distribute and encourage the sharing of free digital imagery for the study of the ancient world.
Arachne is intended to provide archaeologists and Classicists with a free internet research tool for quickly searching hundreds of thousands of records on objects and their attributes. An index and links to the website’s contents is here.
- Beazley Archive
Includes the world's largest collection of images of ancient figure-decorated pottery.
- World Digital Library
If you cannot find what you need search the following database:
Free documentaries online.
- 3D Ancient Wonders
Requires Adobe Shockwave.
- Archaeological Fieldwork Opportunities Bulletin Online (Archaeological Institute of America)
- The Archaeology Channel
- Archaeology Image Bank
- Archaeology Magazine (Archaeological Institute of America)
- Electric Archaeology - Digital Media for Learning and Research
Carleton University professor Shawn Graham's blog.
- Nestor: Bibliography of Aegean and Related Areas
- Stone Pages: Web Guide to Megalithic Europe
Provides access to Classical Archaeological, Ancient Near Eastern and Egyptological websites. The subject matter covered is all aspects of Classical Archaeology as well as the pre-classical past, e.g. Minoan and Mycenaean civilizations, Etruscan studies and archaeology of the Roman provinces. SISYPHOS also collects resources concerning "Archaeology" in general (history of the subject, theories, methods, institutions, excavation techniques).
- Talking Origins
Includes a comprehensive list of hominin fossils. Recommended by Archaeology magazine.
- Voice of the Shuttle : Archaeology
- Amarna Project
This link provides current research and preservation information of the city Tell el-Amarna.
- Digital Karnak
- The Giza Archives
A comprehensive resource for research on the Giza pyramids.
- Hierakonpolis Project Online
- Tutankhamun: Anatomy of an Excavation (The Griffith Institute, University of Oxford)
- The definitive archaeological record for Howard Carter and Lord Carnarvon's discovery of the tomb of Tutankhamun.
- American Research Center in Egypt (ARCE)
ARCE's mission is to support research on all aspects of Egyptian history and culture, foster a broader knowledge about Egypt among the general public, and strengthen American-Egyptian cultural ties.
- Egypt Exploration Society
Their mission is to explore Egyptian sites and monuments and share a lasting record of the remains. Today the Society supports archaeological research projects throughout Egypt and Sudan.
- International Association of Egyptologists
Referencing your sources is an important part of academic writing. Why?
- it lets you acknowledge the ideas or words of others if you use them in your work
- it helps you to avoid plagiarism
- it demonstrates that you are using the scholarly record and that you can provide authority for statements you make in your term paper
- it enables readers to find the source information
- A Canadian Writer's Reference / Diana Hacker (2019) RRF PE3227.H33 2019
- Writing at University: A Guide for Students / Phyllis Creme; Mary R. Lea (2008) PE1408.C69 2008
- Writing Essays: a guide for students in English and the humanities / Richard Marggraf Turley (2016)