Pîjashig Kwe kwe! Tunngahugit! She:kon! Aanii! Boozhoo! Tansi! Taanishi! Hello! Bienvenue!
Meet Martha Attridge Bufton in the following video.
Pick a research topic
- Read your syllabus (assignment instructions).
- Pick a topic that interests you and meets the assignment instructions.
- Narrow or broaden the scope of your topic so that it is "doable."
- What's scope? Scope refers to the "people, places and things" or "who, what, when and where" that you are studying. For example, Canada or another country? Children or adults? Education or child protection services?
Identify key concepts
Use this worksheet to write out your research topic and identify key ideas.
Do an initial search for academic sources
- Here are some videos to help you pick the right search engines and sources for your assignment.
- Use the CRAP test to evaluate the quality of online sources.
Open Educational Resources
Open education resources (OERs) include open textbooks that could be used for courses. Here are three collections that could be useful:
Choosing the right OER is critical. Use the College Libraries Ontario OER toolkit to assess if OERs are appropriate for your teaching and learning context.
Many digital and electronic resources are available through the library.
- Ebooks: The library has a number of ebook collections. These collections include:
- Journal articles
To retrieve these materials with a keyword search in the library main search engine or other databases:
- To find ebooks, use the "available online" and "books" filters in Omni.
- To find journal articles
- Use the "available online" and "articles" filters in Omni
- Use the "linked to full text" filter in other databases.
Watch the two short videos below for instructions on how to use these filters.
- Click on the Journals link under the main search field on the library home page. Use the "available online" option when available to access the digital or electronic version of a journal article.
In addition, virtual research support is also available:
- Ask a Librarian offers virtual reference desk services seven days a week.
- Individual consultations: Email your librarian or subject specialists to arrange an individual consultation via Big Blue Button.
Looking for digital or electronic materials that are not in the Carleton University Library Collection? Email your librarian or subject specialist.
Popular versus academic sources (what's the difference?) and the peer review process
Test your knowledge:
Searching tips: Truncation and phrase searching
Find peer-reviewed journal articles on a variety of topics
- Use the Canadian Studies Quick Guide for a list of the top five (5) databases.
These databases have significant Canadian content:
- America History and Life contains citations and abstracts to articles from journals in all areas of Canadian and U.S. history
- Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA).
- Plus, Canadian Newsstand Complete indexes newspapers from across the country.
- Consult the Centre for the North for other research publications.
- Canadiana.org for digitized cultural heritage
Databases for heritage conservation
- Art & Architecture Complete
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
- EI Enginneering
- Scholars Portal Journals
- Scopus (for the use of technology in heritage conservation)
- Google Scholar (provides access to scholarly literature from many disciplines and sources including peer reviewed articles)
- Finding and using images: a Carleton University library guide (including how to cite images in your projects and presentations)
Open access journals
- Directory of Open Access Journals
- Open access at Carleton
Heritage conservation archival publications
- Heritage Ottawa Newsletters (1974-2013)
- ICOMOS Canada Past Publications (1975-2008)
- Ontario Heritage Trust Heritage Matters (Past issues 2005-date)
Recommended peer-review journals in our library collection
- American Review of Canadian Studies
- British Journal of Canadian Studies
- Canadian Ethnic Studies
- Canadian Historical Review
- Canadian Journal of Communication
- Canadian Journal of Native Studies
- Canadian Journal of Political Science
- Canadian Journal of Sociology
- Globe: Revue internationale d'etudes quebecoises
- History and Memory
- International Journal of Canadian Studies
- Journal of Canadian Studies
- Journal of the Canadian Historical Association
- Labour/Le Travail
- Revista Mexicana de Estudios Canadienses (Mexican Journal of Canadian Studies)
- Social History
- Southern Journal of Canadian Studies
- Topia: Canadian Journal of Cultural Studies
- Alberta History
- Alberta Historical Review
- Atlantic Studies
- BC Studies
- Manitoba History
- Saskatchewan History
- Ontario History
Some publications are available either only in print or online. Others are available in both formats. Check UlrichsWeb for more information about individual journals.
In the search field on the library home page, use keywords to find books and ebooks (i.e., use your key concepts to search for relevant materials). You can limit your results by clicking on the Books/ebooks filter in the left-hand navigation.
Here is a small sample of some library ebooks related to Canadian studies:
- Child poverty in Canada
- Climate change in Canada
- Economic rights in Canada and the United States
- Group politics and social movements in Canada
- Women and electoral politics in Canada
Here is a small sample of some ebook collections relevant to Canadian studies:
Dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks are a good place to find short definitions and introductions to key concepts.
- The Canadian Oxford Dictionary
- Dictionary of Canadian Biography
- Les Dictionnaires de la langue Française au Québec: de la Nouvelle-
France à Aujourd'hui
- The Canadian Encyclopedia: Year 2000 Edition
- Encyclopedia of Canada's Peoples
- International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences
- Canada: a reader's guide
- Cultural theory: the key concepts
- Handbook of Canadian Foreign Policy
- Historic preservation handbook
- The Language of Canadian Politics: A Guide to important Terms and Concepts
Find government policies
- Find government information online using the library's customized Google search.
- Canadian Heritage. Click on "Cultural diversity and rights" in the left-hand menu, then "Human Rights" and then "Canada's Reports to the UN" (middle section of the page) for reports that detail government policies and activities (federal and provincial) related to a number of important international treaties such as the International Covenant on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights.
- Employment and Social Development Canada. Scroll to the bottom of the page and click on "publications and resources" for audits, evaluations and other departmental reports.
- Office of the Auditor General of Canada. The OAG publishes reports that evaluation government policies and programs.
- Library of Parliament of Canada. The library produces publications on policy issues.
- Search the Canadian Government Policy Cycle subject guide.
- Search the Canadian Research Index.
A short list of Canadian federal departments and agencies
- Canada Mortage and Housing Corporation
- Canadian Human Rights Commission
- Citizenship and Immigration Canada
- Correctional Service of Canada
- Department of Canadian Heritage
- Department of Finance (includes Canadian government budgets)
- Department of Justice
- Employment and Social Development Canada
- Environment Canada
- Government of Canada
- Health Canada
- Health Canada National Anti-Drug Strategy
- Health Canada Seniors
- Indian and Northern Affairs Canada
- Parliament of Canada
- Justice Laws (consolidated statutes)
Other federal and provincial legislation
- Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms
- Canadian Human Rights Act
- Constitution of 1867
- Criminal Code
- Ontario E-Laws
- Quebec Laws & Regulations
- Canadian Legal Information Institute (CANLII): for all provinces
- Aboriginal Peoples Survey (Statistics Canada)
- Ontario Data Documentation, Extraction Service and Infrastructure Initiative (ODESI)
Find data at the Carleton University library's Data Centre.
- Canada Mortgage and Housing Statistics and Data
- Census information
- Community Information Database (based on census data, provides socioeconomic and demographic data and information for all Canadian communities)
- Justice statistics Beyond 2020 tables
- Statistics Canada
- Statistics Canada Health Indicators
- Alberta Official Statistics
- British Columbia Statistics (BCStats)
- Institute de la statistique du Québec
- New Brunswick
- Newfoundland and Labrador Statistics Agency
- Northwest Territories Bureau of Statistics
- Nunavut Bureau of Statistics
- Saskatchewan Bureau of Statistics
- Yukon Bureau of Statistics