- SciFinder Scholar: Carleton’s most comprehensive database for chemistry literature. Also includes property data, spectra, regulatory and commercial information. Search by topic, name, formula, structure, or identifier. A free account is required - create one using your Carleton email address.
- Analytical Abstracts: Designed specifically for analytical scientists, this database includes articles from all areas of analytical chemistry. Search generally, or for specific analytes, matrices or techniques.
- TOXLINE: A U.S. National Library of Medicine database useful for “biochemical, pharmacological, physiological, and toxicological effects of drugs and other chemicals”.
Journal Collections with basic search engines
- ACS Publications: American Chemical Society journals from all areas of chemistry
- Royal Society of Chemistry Journals Collection
- Web of Science: A large collection of databases which includes chemistry literature. Allows structure searching in the Core Collection. Useful for citation searching.
- Scopus: A large general database which includes chemistry literature. Useful for citation searching.
- Google Scholar: A general search for academic information, including literature available through Carleton and on the free web.
- Annual Reviews: A collection of journals dedicated to review articles, including several focused on chemistry topics.
For other options, see the "databases by subject" page for Chemistry
- SciFinder Scholar: Carleton’s most comprehensive chemistry database, includes property data, spectra, regulatory and commercial information. Search by name, formula, structure, or identifier. A free account is required - create one using your Carleton email address.
- CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics: The authoritative reference handbook for chemical and physical property information.
- ChemSpider: Free chemical structure database from the Royal Society of Chemistry to find properties, spectra, and literature references. Search by name or structure.
- e-EROS Encyclopedia of Reagents for Organic Synthesis: Online encyclopedia with detailed information on reagents and catalysts for organic synthesis. Browse reagent or catalyst names or search by structure or reaction.
- PubChem: Free set of databases with information on the biological activities of small molecules. Search substances, compounds, and bioassays. Search by keyword, properties, or structure.
- TOXNET: A series of databases related to toxicology from the National Library of Medicine. Search them simultaneously to see one result from each, or pick one database to suit your topic.
- Knovel Critical Tables (2nd Edition): Interactive tables of physical, solvent, and thermodynamic properties.
- SciFinder Scholar: Carleton’s most comprehensive chemistry database, includes references to patents relevant to chemistry from around the world. A free account is required - create one using your Carleton email address.
- Derwent Innovations Index: A searchable database of international patent information, including a Chemical Section.
- Google Patents: Search and read through the full text of patents from around the world. The full text is often electronically created, and is not as accurate as some other databases, but the size of the collection makes this a useful resource.
Theses and Dissertations
- Chemical Abstracts Service Source Index: Converts journal title abreviations to full titles, and vice versa.
- Substance Search: A useful tool for converting between chemical names and CAS Registry Numbers.
- Wikipedia Structure Search: Search for Wikipedia pages by drawing chemical structures.
- The ACS style guide: Guide to a chemistry-specific citation style from the American Chemical Society.
- ToxTutor: Self-paced tutorial on the key principles of toxicology from the U.S. National Library Of Medicine (NLM).
- UCI OpenChem: Open versions of chemistry lecture courses from University of California, Irvine, including recorded lectures. No registration required.