This subject guide will assist you in finding books, journal articles, and websites, as well as assist you in developing your research skills.
Step #1: Get background information from handbooks, encyclopedias, dictionaries.
- Mobile communications handbook [electronic resource] / edited by Jerry D. Gibson.
- Style and ethics of communication in science and engineering [electronic resource] / Jay D. Humphrey, Jeffrey W. Holmes.
Comprehensive dictionary of electrical engineering Laplante, Phillip A. [electronic resource]
- Encyclopedia of software engineering [electronic resource].
Publication Cycle (Engineering & Science): to find primary and secondary sources of information, use tertiary sources of information: dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks. When a researcher publishes material, they follow the cycle clockwise. To find primary and secondary sources, follow the cycle anti clockwise.
- Begin by defining exactly what you are searching for
- Select the keywords/synonyms in your topic
- Be specific when determining keywords/synonyms and terms to search
- Use the advanced interface of electronic databases and Internet search engines to help narrow your search
- Limit results in electronic databases to full-text or peer reviewed journals only
- Use Boolean Operators to connect search terms
- Take notes during your research to keep track of where you have been, keywords searched, what worked and what didn't, etc.
- Google search secrets [electronic resource] / Christa Burns and Michael P. Sauers.
Step #2: Once your topic is narrowly defined, select databases to find specific articles that have been published in journals.
- EI Engineering Village
- IEEE Xplore Digital Library
- Archives of computational methods in engineering.
- Combustion and flame. Peer Reviewed
- Composites Part B: Engineering [electronic resource].
- Computer methods in applied mechanics and engineering. Peer Reviewed
- IEEE communications magazine.
- IEEE Communications surveys and tutorials [electronic resource].
- IEEE journal on selected areas in communications.
- IEEE wireless communications [electronic resource]. Peer Reviewed
- International journal of engineering science [electronic resource].
- Structural health monitoring [electronic resource].
Step #3: Find books on your topic to gain greater depth and understanding.
Books and Serials on Telecommunications Engineering are shelved at these locations in the Library of Congress system: TK5101-6720.
We welcome your suggestions for books or other library materials you need for your study or research at Carleton.
Google Books >Communications Engineering
Suggested Subject Headings
Fulltext eBook Collections
Step #4: Write down or store all the references you have consulted to include them in your bibliography of your research paper (e.g., Mendeley)
- Advice on Research and Writing From CMU, primarily for computer scientists
- IEEE Citation Style Guide
- Writing Guidelines for Engineering and Science Students
- Writing Services
- Annual Reviews Online Authoritative, analytic reviews in 34 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences. They synthesize the vast amount of primary research literature and identify the principal contributions in each field.
- The Oxford guide to library research [electronic resource] / Thomas Mann.
- Selected Links to Resources on Writing a Literature Review [internet]