Welcome to the library research guide for Systems and Computer Engineering at Carleton University. Scroll down to the Reference Materials section to find Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, and Handbooks. 

Reference Materials: 

Get background information from handbooks, encyclopedias, dictionaries.

Handbooks

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

 

Database Annotations: 

Once your topic is narrowly defined, select databases to find specific articles that have been published in journals.

Key Databases: 

Additional Databases: 

Select Journals: 

Recommended Books: 

Find books on your topic to gain greater depth and understanding. 

We welcome your suggestions for books or other library materials you need for your study or research at Carleton.

  • Books and Serials on Systems and Computer Engineering are shelved at these locations in the Library of Congress system: TA168 and TK7885-7895.  New titles.

Suggested Subject Headings: 

Fulltext eBook Collections: 

Primary Sources

  • Publication Cycle (Engineering & Science): to find primary and secondary sources of information, use tertiary sources of information: dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks. When a researcher publishes material, they follow the cycle clockwise. To find primary and secondary sources, follow the cycle anti clockwise.

Search Tips

  • Begin by defining exactly what you are searching for.
  • Select the keywords/synonyms in your topic.
  • Be specific when determining keywords/synonyms and terms to search.
  • Use the advanced interface of electronic databases and Internet search engines to help narrow your search
  • Limit results in electronic databases to full-text or peer reviewed journals only
  • Use Boolean Operators to connect search terms (Click for a brief explanation of Boolean Operators)
  • Take notes during your research to keep track of where you have been, keywords searched, what worked and what didn't, etc.
  • Google search secrets [electronic resource] / Christa Burns and Michael P. Sauers.

More Writing & Citing Resources: 

Write down or store all the references you have consulted to include them in your bibliography of your research paper (e.g., Mendeley)

Writing Help

Literature Reviews

Internet resource:

Online book:

Database:

  • Annual Reviews Online Authoritative, analytic reviews in 34 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences. They synthesize the vast amount of primary research literature and identify the principal contributions in each field.