COVID-19

Carleton University's MacOdrum Library is here to support students, faculty, and instructors.  General research questions can be addressed to: askthelibrary@carleton.ca

Explore some of the academic journal databases provided by Carleton University

Science

Specific Journals

Librarian for Health and Biosciences: Heather MacDonald

Research Portals

Attention Researchers: Mandated by Canada's Chief Science Officer, see CanCOVID, a network of Canadian COVID-19 researchers, clinical collaborators, and healthcare stakeholders.  By invitation only for those engaged in the response effort, review and register here

Attention Carleton Community: the Carleton COVID-19 Archival Collection is being developed to preserve official messaging, programming, and community-based experiences from this moment in history.  It is a partnership between Corporate Records and Archives along with MacOdrum Library's Archives & Special Collections.  Please follow the link above for more details and contacts for contributing internally- and externally-sourced material

Pre-Prints

Research made public prior to peer review.  Typically shared to gather feedback, under COVID-19 pre-print servers are valuable resources to monitor for the latest scientific research.

Community Reviews

  • Publons - Crowd-sourced community reviews of pre-prints and other papers focused on COVID-19 research
  • Rapid Reviews: COVID-19 - from MIT, rapid-review overlay journal, expert reviews in a matter of days (sign up for daily/weekly updates)

Open Access (OA)

Freely available, peer reviewed research

  • PLOS - Public Library of Science
  • Frontiers - OA Publisher and Open Science Platform

For more OA resources, see our guide for Open Access (OA) Publications

COVID-19 by the Numbers and Other Information

Canadian Sources

International Sources

Data from News Sources

ODESI

Ontario's Data Portal provides social science microdata and aggregate data

  • A growing number of COVID-19 public use microdata files are available for download and analysis
  • Contact Dataservices@carleton.ca for guidance
Librarian for Data and Statistics: Jane Fry, Data Specialist: Chris Shoniker

Mapping, Geographic Information System (GIS), and Geography Databases

Librarian for GIS: Rebecca Bartlett, Subject Specialist: Meaghan Kenny
  • GEOBASE - earth sciences
    • geographical distribution of COVID-19
    • (EI Engineering Platform) - free access to ASTM and IEEE standards relevant to personal protective equipment (PPE)
Subject Specialist for Geography: Susan Tudin

    Government Information

    Public Policy

    Subject Specialist for Public Policy & Administration: Maureen Leslie

    Workplace

    • Gartner Research Campus Access - business insights, advice, and tools
    • REALM Project -- REopening Archives, Libraries, and Museums - from OCLC, a global library cooperative that provides shared technology services, original research, and community programs

    National and International Security

    Librarian for International Security: Aleksandra Blake

    Psychology and Sociology

    • PsycINFO - behavioral and social sciences
    Subject Specialist for Psychology: Ryan Tucci
    ​Carleton University Health & Counselling Services:​ COVID-19 Update
    Subject Specialist for Sociology: Robert Smith

    Indigenous Peoples

    Librarian for Indigenous Studies: Martha Attridge Bufton

    Legal Considerations

    Legal Studies Librarian: Julie Lavigne

    Participate in a Study or Survey

    Subscription Databases

    Staying Current

    Librarian for Business and Economics: Matthew Gertler

    Subscription Databases

    • Canadian Newsstream - cross-Canada coverage including regional publications
    • Factiva - international
    • PressReader - international digital reproductions of print newspapers and magazines.  Download the PressReader app (ensure you are connected through VPN when using the app)
    • Eureka.cc - French language (Canadian) newspapers

      Online News

      Additional MacOdrum Library Guides

      Subject Specialist for Journalism and Media Studies: Ryan Tucci

      University of Toronto's COVID-19 (2019 Novel Coronavirus) Information Guide

      Information for the General Public

      Evaluating COVID-19 Information

      Tracking Vaccine Development

      Post-Secondary Education

      Content last reviewed: June 11, 2021