Subject Guide TabsWelcomeCriminology is a behavioural science that studies crime and criminal justice, drawing from knowledge in law, psychology and sociology, as well as other disciplines. Reference Materials: Encyclopedia of Crime & Justice International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences To find resources and websites for case law and legislation, please consult the Laws & Legislation tab of the Law Subject Guide. Library Guide: CRIMINOLOGY_lg.pdf BooksRecommended Books: Criminology / Tim Newburn. Criminology : critical Canadian perspectives / Kirsten Kramar. Critical criminology in Canada : new voices, new directions / edited by Aaron Doyle and Dawn Moore. Feminist criminology through a biosocial lens / Anthony Walsh. Research methods in criminal justice and criminology / Frank E. Hagan, Mercyhurst University. Research methods in criminal justice and criminology : an interdisciplinary approach / Lee Ellis, Richard D. Hartley, and Anthony Walsh. Suggested Subject Headings: CrimeCriminal justice, Administration ofCriminologyCorrectionsLaw enforcementCriminology -- Research -- Methodology.Fulltext eBook Collections: Avalon ProjectMartinus Nijhoff onlineSAGE Knowledge Encyclopedias Journal ArticlesKey Databases for Journal Articles: Criminal Justice AbstractsSociological AbstractsSocial Sciences Full TextAdditional Databases: PsycINFOHeinOnline Law Journal LibraryLexisNexis AcademicQuicklawWestlawNext CanadaScholars Portal Journals Web of Science Core CollectionNational Criminal Justice Reference Service (U.S.)Google Scholar DatabasesKey Databases: Criminal Justice AbstractsSociological AbstractsSocial Sciences Full TextAdditional Databases: PsycINFOWestlawNext CanadaLexisNexis AcademicCanLIIScott's Index to Canadian Legal Periodical LiteratureCPI.QQuicklawScholars Portal Journals Web of Science Core CollectionGoogle Scholar JournalsSelect Journals: There are many criminology journals, as well as many academic journals which include articles of interest to criminology scholars (such as sociology journals). These journals include the following: Canadian Journal of Criminology and Criminal Justice European Journal on Criminal Policy and Research Forum, qualitative social research Journal of Criminal Justice and Popular Culture Web Journal of Current Legal Issues Western Criminology Review For more journal titles, try searching the following subject headings: Crime -- Periodicals. Crime and criminals -- Periodicals. Crime prevention -- Periodicals. Criminal justice, Administration of -- Periodicals. Criminology -- Periodicals. Social sciences -- Research -- Periodicals. WebsitesWebsites: General Criminology: Centre for Criminology and Sociolegal Studies (University of Toronto) Center for Criminology and Public Policy Research (College of Criminology and Criminal Justice, Florida State University) Center for the Study & Prevention of Violence (Institute of Behavioral Science, University of Colorado-Boulder) Crime Research Centre (Faculty of Law, University of Western Australia) NCJRS: National Criminal Justice Reference Service (US-funded resource with justice and drug-related information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide) policing.com (site on community policing, created by the former director of Michigan State University's School of Criminal Justice) Restorative Justice Online (initiative of the Prison Fellowship International's Centre for Justice and Reconciliation) Legal Research: For help with legal research, consult the resources listed in the Law Subject Guide. More detailed help can be found in the Best Guide to Canadian Legal Research, created by a lawyer who is also a legal research instructor at UBC. Associations/Organizations: Canadian: Canadian Association of Chiefs of Police Canadian Criminal Justice Association Canadian Institute for the Administration of Justice Canadian Police College Canadian Security Intelligence Service (CSIS) Centre for Addiction and Mental Health Correctional Service of Canada Criminal Intelligence Service Canada Department of Justice Canada International Police Association - Canadian Section John Howard Society of Canada National Clearinghouse on Family Violence (Canada) National Crime Prevention Centre (Canada) National Parole Board Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness RCMP American: Academy of Criminal Justice Sciences American Bar Association - Criminal Justice Section American Correctional Association American Psychological Association American Society of Criminology American Sociological Association Critical Criminology Division (American Society of Criminology) Law and Society Association National Criminal Justice Association NCJRS: National Criminal Justice Reference Service National Institute of Justice [US] Police Foundation US Department of Justice Foreign: British Society of Criminology International: International Association of Chiefs of Police International Narcotics Interdiction Association Interpol Catalogues and Libraries with Criminology Collections: Canadian Police College Library Centre for Criminology and Sociolegal Studies Library (University of Toronto) Institute of Criminology (Cambridge) Library Catalogs (Albany) National Clearinghouse on Family Violence Rutgers University Libraries SFU Library Catalogue (Simon Fraser) United Nations Office on Drugs & Crime World Criminal Justice Electronic Library Network Topical Bibliographies and Resources: Addiction Search Youth Violence: Report of the Surgeon General (US) Michigan State University, Centers and Training Writing and CitingWriting & Citing Guides: APA Citation StyleCiting Your SourcesWriting Essays and Preparing ThesesMore Writing & Citing Resources: Advancing qualitative methods in criminology and criminal justice / edited by Heith Copes. The craft of research / Wayne C. Booth, Gregory G. Colomb, Joseph M. Williams. Legal research and writing / Ted Tjaden.