The library's search tool, Summon, allows you to search for books, journal articles, media, and more with a single search. You can access Summon from the library's homepage.
Start with online videos for search techniques and tips -
When searching Summon, consider the following:
Once you have your results:
- To see only BOOKS click on Book/eBook.
- To see BOOKS as well as GOVERNMENT DOCUMENTS, click on Library Catalogue
- To see only JOURNAL ARTICLES click on Journal Article and click on Scholarly & Peer-Review.
Because there will be many results, it is important to narrow your search.
- Content Type
- Publication Date
- Subject Terms
- Library Location
Discipline and Subject Terms are particularly useful.
Discipline allows you to look at those resources classified as belonging to one specific field of study; e.g., Indigenous Studies, Public Policy, Law, Sociology, Health Sciences, etc. This can be very helpful when researching an interdisciplinary topic from a particular angle; for example, the topic indigenous health care woud span multiple disciplines. It is also useful when one term is used in multiple disciplines to mean something very different; for example, social media research in sociology is very different from social media in business.
Subject Terms are like additional keywords that have been indexed, or tagged, for each document. They can be helpful to further narrow down your results list, or to suggest terms you hadn't thought of that are related to your research.
Also try: Summon Advanced Search
Tip: Always use quotation marks for phrase searching. For example "land claims".
When to Use Summon:
|I want to...
|Search for articles and/or books on a topic
||Summon searches a wide range of sources and will bring you books, articles and other useful resources on your topic
|Get started on an interdisciplinary topic
||Summon will find resources from databases covering many topics, so can be much more efficient than searching several databases
|Narrow a topic down
||Summon lets you narrow down your search by subject or discipline, using facets on the left side. Each facet shows you how many results you'll get if you select it, so you can see in advance if you're narrowing your topic down to only 2 or 3 items.
|Search for a specific book, video, journal title, game, etc.
||The library catalogue lets you do more specific searches and has up-to-date information about whether items are in the library or checked out. This information in Summon may be a few hours old.
|Renew my library books
||You can only access your library account through the library catalogue, not through Summon.
|Use specific search options available in a database
||Summon doesn't let you search by specific fields like methodology, NAICS code, jurisdiction, etc. so you need to go directly to a specialized database to do that kind of a search.
Use the CATALOGUE to find books, government documents, conference proceedings, and journals. Only the titles of journals are included in the catalogue: use the databases to search for individual article titles.
If you know the title of the item you seek, perform a TITLE search.
If you know the author, perform an AUTHOR search. Enter the author's name with the surname first.
Otherwise, try a KEYWORD search.
Use boolean operators AND/OR to create a relevant search statement.
Use the truncation symbol * when you want to allow for several spellings or variations on a word.
When using more than one operator, use parentheses to group words.
Example: united states and financial crisis
When keyword searching, if a keyword exists in the subject heading or in the title, the resource is much more likely to be about that topic. You can construct sophisticated searches by specifying that your search terms must exist in particular fields of the catalogue record. Prefix the search term with a: to restrict to authors, t: to restrict to titles, s: to restrict to subject headings, and n: to restrict to the notes (where tables of contents are loaded).
Example: s:united states and recession* and bank*
Scroll down to see the subject headings.
Example: United States -- Economic conditions -- 21st century
Banks and banking, Central -- United States
Global Financial Crisis, 2008-2009
For more information, consult the keyword search help in the catalogue.
eBooks can be found in the catalogue by author, title, subject and keyword searching.
Do a search and then limit your search to retreive only ebooks by using the drop down menu:
- Books24x7 focus on books and references in engineering (Engineering Pro) and technology (IT Pro).
- Blackwell Reference Online: Business & Management Over 20 handbooks in the area of business and management. Includes the Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management.
- Brill E-Books Carleton University subscribes to two subfiles: Middle East and Islamic Studies (2007-2010) and Social Sciences (2010).
- Canadian Publishers Collection Includes major Canadian University Presses, among them the University of Toronto Press, the UBC Press, Les Presses de l'Université du Québec and McGill-Queen's University Press.
- Columbia International Affairs Online
- eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)
- Ebrary Fulltext of books from academic publishers, as well as books and reports from Canadian research institutes, government agencies and university centres.
- MyiLibrary includes ebooks from Cambridge University Press, Oxford University Press and Taylor & Francis
- Oxford Scholarship Online: ebook collections from Oxford University Press covering Economics & Finance, Business & Management, and Political Science.
- Safari Book Online provides over 9,800 technology, digital media and business books and videos online.
- Scholars Portal Books Fulltext available for books from the following publishers: Springer, Oxford University Press, American Psychological Association, Cambridge University Press, Canadian presses and government and non-governmental organizations
- UC Press E-Books Collection, 1982-2004 Collection from University of California Press on a wide range of topics.
- Wiley Online Library
See a full list of ebook collections.