This subject guide will assist you in finding books, journal articles, and websites, as well as assist you in developing your research skills.
Step #1: Get background information from handbooks, encyclopedias, dictionaries.
- Comprehensive dictionary of electrical engineering Laplante, Phillip A. [electronic resource]
- Electrochemical dictionary [electronic resource] / Allen J. Bard, György Inzelt, Fritz Scholz (Eds.)
- Fiber optics illustrated dictionary Petersen, Julie K.
- Fiber optics standard dictionary Weik, Martin H. [electronic resource]
- The IEEE standard dictionary of electrical and electronics terms Radatz, Jane.; IEEE Computer Society. Standards Coordinating Committee.; Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers.;
- American electricians' handbook. Croft, Terrell, 1880-; Hartwell, Frederic P.; Summers, Wilford I.;
- AutoCAD 2009 and AutoCAD LT 2009 [electronic resource] : no experience required / Jon McFarland.
- Mobile Communications Handbook Gibson, Jerry D. [electronic resource]
- The computer engineering handbook Oklobdzija, Vojin G. [electronic resource]
- The Electrical Engineering Handbook Chen, Wai-Kai, 1936- [electronic resource]
- Electrical engineer's reference book Laughton, M. A.; Warne, D. F.; [electronic resource]
- Handbook of engineering electromagnetics [electronic resource] / edited by Rajeev Bansal.
- The handbook of photonics [electronic resource] / edited by Mool C. Gupta, John Ballato.
- Handbook of semiconductor interconnection technology [electronic resource] / edited by Geraldine C. Schwartz, Kris V. Srikrishnan.
- Reference data for engineers : radio, electronics, computer, and communications. Middleton, Wendy. [electronic resource]
- Reference manual for telecommunications engineering Freeman, Roger L. [electronic resource]
- Springer eBooks
- Standard handbook for electrical engineers. Fink, Donald G.; Beaty, H. Wayne.;
- The VLSI handbook [electronic resource] / edited by Wai-Kai Chen.
Sources of Information
Publication Cycle (Engineering & Science): to find primary and secondary sources of information, use tertiary sources of information: dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks. When a researcher publishes material, they follow the cycle clockwise. To find primary and secondary sources, follow the cycle anti clockwise.
- Search Tips
- Begin by defining exactly what you are searching for
- Select the keywords/synonyms in your topic
- Be specific when determining keywords/synonyms and terms to search
- Use the advanced interface of electronic databases and Internet search engines to help narrow your search
- Limit results in electronic databases to full-text or peer reviewed journals only
- Use Boolean Operators to connect search terms
- Take notes during your research to keep track of where you have been, keywords searched, what worked and what didn't, etc.
- Google search secrets [electronic resource] / Christa Burns and Michael P. Sauers.
Step #2: Once your topic is narrowly defined, select databases to find specific articles that have been published in journals.
- EI Engineering Village
- IEEE Xplore Digital Library
- Academic OneFile
- ACM Digital Library
- Dissertations and Theses Global
- Scholars Portal Journals
- Science Citation Index Expanded
- Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (CPCI-S) --1990-present
- SPIE Digital Library Database
- SpringerLink Journals
- Synthesis Digital Library of Engineering and Computer Science: Collections 1-9
- Taylor & Francis Journals Online
- Web of Science
- Web of Science Core Collection
- IEEE communications magazine.
- IEEE industrial electronics magazine [electronic resource].
- IEEE signal processing magazine. [electronic resource]. Peer Reviewed
- IEEE transactions on fuzzy systems. Peer Reviewed
- IEEE transactions on industrial electronics. Peer Reviewed
- IEEE transactions on pattern analysis and machine intelligence. [electronic resource]. Peer Reviewed
- IEEE transactions on power electronics. Peer Reviewed
- Neural Networks and Learning Systems, IEEE Transactions on
- Proceedings of the IEEE. Peer Reviewed
- Progress in Quantum Electronics [electronic resource]. Peer Reviewed
News Sources & Business Reports
Step #3: Find books on your topic to gain greater depth and understanding.
Suggested Subject Headings
Fulltext eBook Collections
Step #4: Write down or store all the references you have consulted to include them in your bibliography of your research paper (e.g., Mendeley)
- Academic Writing Centre and the Writing Tutorial Service Get one-on-one help with the entire writing process.
- Advice on Research and Writing
- Citing Electronic Resources
- The craft of editing : a guide for managers, scientists, and engineers / Michael Alley.
- IEEE Citation style guide
- Technical Report Writing (from NASA)
- Science and technology research : writing strategies for students / Tina M. Neville, Deborah B. Henry, Bruce D. Neville.
- Writing Guidelines for Engineering and Science Students
- Annual Reviews Online / Authoritative, analytic reviews in 34 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences. They synthesize the vast amount of primary research literature and identify the principal contributions in each field.
- The Oxford guide to library research [electronic resource] / Thomas Mann.
- Selected Links to Resources on Writing a Literature Review [internet]