This guide is meant for self service. If at any time during the research process, should you feel the need for research support, then email us. We will arrange a convenient time to get together on Zoom, and other platforms.
The research process
- Get background information from handbooks, encyclopedias, dictionaries
- Once your topic is narrowly defined, select databases to find specific articles that have been published in journals
- examples: Image-based research a sourcebook for qualitative researchers; The imaginary : word and image
- Find books on your topic to gain greater depth and understanding
- Write down or store all the references you have consulted to include them in the bibliography of your research paper
- examples: Mendeley,
- Begin by defining exactly what you are searching for
- Be specific when determining keywords: synonyms/antonyms and terms to search
- Use the advanced interface of electronic databases and Internet search engines to help narrow your search
- Limit results in electronic databases to full-text or peer reviewed journals only
- Use Boolean Operators to connect search terms by understanding how search engines operate
- examples: Google search secrets [electronic resource] / Christa Burns and Michael P. Sauers
- Take notes during your research to keep track of where you have been, keywords searched, what worked and what didn't, etc.
- examples: Avoiding Disaster: Eddie Gets Organized
Sources of information
Publication Cycle: to find primary and secondary sources of information, use tertiary sources of information: dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks. When a researcher publishes material, they follow the cycle clockwise. To find primary and secondary sources, follow the cycle anti clockwise.
OMNI: the Carleton University Library search portal. Please see Help With Using Omni
Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH) use controlled vocabulary to access and express the subject content of documents. Electrical/Electronics Engineering has largely been divided into the following subjects or research areas. This is a searchable index. Click on a link below to discover the Library's holdings in this area:
- Add keywords
- Use the filters on the left of the resulting screen
- Typical filters are Available Online and Peer Reviewed Journals
- Circuits and systems
- Computer engineering
- Computer science
- Descriptive and experimental mechanics
- Electrical computer engineering
- Electrical engineering
- Electrical engineering--Electronic engineering--Information engineering
- Electrical engineering--Electronics--Nuclear engineering
- Elektroteknik och elektronik
- Engineering and technology
- Engineering--Applied sciences
- Engineering--Electrical and electronic
- Engineering--Civil engineering
- Materials science
- Materials science--Multidisciplinary
- Mechanical engineering
- Physical sciences
- Science and technology
- Systems engineering
Databases tagged 'Electrical Engineering'
Databases by 'Type'
Online journals by 'Subject'
Other suggested databases:
- Academic OneFile: A multidisciplinary database providing access to journals on a wide range of topics.
- ACM Digital Library: All articles and other documents published by the Association for Computing Machinery.
- Dissertations and Theses Global: ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global is a comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present. PQDT Global includes theses from Great Britain and Ireland.
- IEEE Xplore Digital Library: Provides access to the technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics.
- IOPscience: A collection of Institute of Physics (IOP) journals covering both applied and pure physics.
- SAGE Knowledge Encyclopedias: Carleton subscribes to the 2011 Encyclopedia Collection which provides perpetual access to 27 encyclopedias in the social sciences published between 2005-2011, as well as some other encyclopedias which have been ordered individually. Browse by Content Type: "Encyclopedias" and/or "Handbooks".
- SAGE Research Methods: With information on the full range of qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods for the social and behavioral sciences, as well as methods commonly used in the hard sciences, the book, reference, and journal content in SAGE Research Methods helps researchers of all levels conduct their research.
- Cases: Cases are peer-reviewed and come with pedagogical tools including learning objectives and discussions questions
- Datasets: Datasets is a collection of teaching datasets and instructional guides that give students a chance to learn data analysis by practicing themselves
- Video: Video contains more than 125 hours of video, including tutorials, case study videos, expert interviews, and more, covering the entire research methods and statistics curriculum
- Scholars Portal Journals: Provides access to a large number of articles from major academic publishers covering all fields.
- Scopus: A multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of research literature and web sources.
- SpringerLink: A large collection of scientific ebooks and journals published by Springer on a broad range of subjects.
- Synthesis Digital Library of Engineering and Computer Science: Synthesis Digital Library of Engineering and Computer Science consists of over 30 subject series in many areas of engineering, biotechnology, and computer science. Each series consists of 50-250 page introductory reviews (called "lectures") on advanced topics in their fields. Lectures are written at an advanced undergraduate level. Indexed in Engineering Village.
- Taylor & Francis Journals Online: Gives full-text access from 1997 where available to over 900 high-quality academic journals in a wide variety of disciplines.
- Web of Science Core Collection: A multidisciplinary index of citations to articles in the sciences, social sciences and humanities.
- arXiv: arXiv is a free distribution service and an open-access archive for 1,769,134 scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics. Materials on this site are not peer-reviewed by arXiv.
- Earth ArXiv: EarthArXiv.org is moving from the OSF Preprints platform to the Janeway preprint platform at the California Digital Library (CDL). In preparation for this move, EarthArXiv will stop accepting submissions on Friday August 21, 2020. EarthArXiv.org will redirect to the new service when it becomes public on October 1, 2020.
- TechRxiv: TechRxiv (pronounced "tech archive") is an open, moderated preprint server for unpublished research in electrical engineering, computer science, and related technology. By using TechRxiv, authors can quickly disseminate their work to a wide audience and gain community feedback on a draft version of their research. A preprint is a draft version of an article; final versions of published articles should not be submitted to TechRxiv.
- The SAGE handbook of applied social research methods Bickman, Leonard, 1941- editor.; Rog, Debra J., editor.; Best, Samuel J., contributor. 2009 [electronic resource]
- How to Read a Book, v5.0 School of Information University of Michigan
- How to Read a Paragraph: The Art of Close Reading
- How to Read (and Understand) a Social Science Journal Article: Tips and tricks to make reading and understanding social science journal articles easier
- How to Read for Grad School Miriam E. Sweeney
- READ LIKE A GRADUATE STUDENT, NOT A MYSTERY FAN William Doane
Minecraft (Education Edition) is free for Carleton students
Just download the installer from the link below (for Windows 10): https://education.minecraft.net/get-started/alternative-download/
After install, launch the game and log in using your Carleton email address (cmail) and password then you're good to go.
- COVID-19 Updates & Changes to Library Services
- Library memo re: students’ concerns regarding Library Access during COVID 19
- Library news stream