Welcome to the library research guide for Emerging Technology, also known as Technological Innovations, at Carleton University.
Any technology that is distinguishable from magic is not sufficiently advanced - Gregory Benford
Started as a pilot project in January 2015. Objectives:
- engage students with 'anything but textbook'
- give students an opportunity to use and experiment with emerging technology
- library as innovation incubator
- support student course work, projects and research
Scroll down to the Reference Materials section to find Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, and Handbooks.
Get background information from handbooks, encyclopedias, dictionaries.
- Encyclopedia of technology and innovation management [electronic resource] / edited by V.K. Narayanan and Gina Colarelli O'Connor.
- The cyberspace lexicon : an illustrated dictionary of terms from multimedia to virtual reality / Bob Cotton and Richard Oliver.
- Creativity research : an inter-disciplinary and multi-disciplinary research handbook / edited by Eric Shiu.
- From idea to innovation [electronic resource] : a handbook for inventors, decision makers and organizations / Bernd X. Weis (Waldkirch, Deutschland).
- Handbook of research on solar energy systems and technologies / [edited by] Sohail Anwar, Harry Efstathiadis, Salahuddin Qazi.
- MOJO [electronic resource] : the mobile journalism handbook : how to make broadcast videos with an iPhone or iPad / Ivo Burum, Stephen Quinn.
- The Sage handbook of digital technology research / edited by Sara Price, Carey Jewitt and Barry Brown.
- The handbook of emergent technologies in social research / edited by Sharlene Nagy Hesse-Biber.
- The handbook of service innovation [electronic resource] / Renu Agarwal, Willem Selen, Göran Roos, Roy Green, editors.
- The innovation handbook [electronic resource] : how to profit from your ideas, intellectual property and market knowledge, third edition / consultant editor, Adam Jolly.
- Handbook of research on educational communications and technology / edited by David H. Jonassen.
Once your topic is narrowly defined, select databases to find specific articles that have been published in journals.
Fulltext eBook Collections:
Find books on your topic to gain greater depth and understanding.
- Publication Cycle (Engineering & Science): to find primary and secondary sources of information, use tertiary sources of information: dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks. When a researcher publishes material, they follow the cycle clockwise. To find primary and secondary sources, follow the cycle anti clockwise.
- Begin by defining exactly what you are searching for
- Select the keywords/synonyms in your topic
- Be specific when determining keywords/synonyms and terms to search
- Use the advanced interface of electronic databases and Internet search engines to help narrow your search
- Limit results in electronic databases to full-text or peer reviewed journals only
- Use Boolean Operators to connect search terms (Click for a brief explanation of Boolean Operators)
- Take notes during your research to keep track of where you have been, keywords searched, what worked and what didn't, etc.
- Google search secrets [electronic resource] / Christa Burns and Michael P. Sauers.
Write down or store all the references you have consulted to include them in your bibliography of your research paper (e.g., Mendeley)
- Academic Writing Centre and the Writing Tutorial Service Get one-on-one help with the entire writing process.
- Advice on Research and Writing
- Citing Electronic Resources
- IEEE Citation Style Guide
- Science and technology research : writing strategies for students / Tina M. Neville, Deborah B. Henry, Bruce D. Neville.
- Technical Report Writing (from NASA)
- The craft of editing : a guide for managers, scientists, and engineers / Michael Alley.
- Writing Guidelines for Engineering and Science Students
- The Oxford guide to library research [electronic resource] / Thomas Mann.
- Annual Reviews Online / Authoritative, analytic reviews in 34 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences. They synthesize the vast amount of primary research literature and identify the principal contributions in each field.
The library maintains a growing collection of hardware and peripherals that support student and faculty work in emerging technology. We have boards, electronics, gesture control devices, virtual reality viewers and more!
To borrow an item, visit the Emerging Technology Lending Library located at the ITS Service Desk in the Discovery Centre on the fourth floor of the Library. Items can be borrowed by Carleton students, faculty and staff with a valid Library card for a two week period.
Browse the complete Emerging Technology Collection
Emerging technology librarians in Canada
- Alexander J. Jerabek, Librarian, Université du Québec à Montréal
- Amanda Etches-Johnson, Head Librarian of Discovery & Access, University of Guelph Library
- Amy Buckland, Coordinator, eScholarship@McGill, McGill University
- Andrew Colgoni, Science Fluencies Librarian, McMaster University Library
- Cory Laverty, Head of the Education Library, Queen's University
- Darlene Fichter, Research Services Librarian, University of Saskatchewan Library
- Denise E. Horoky, Research and Instructional Services Librarian, UWO
- Elim Wong, Law Librarian UBC
- David Sharp, Head of Collections, E-Resources, and Serials (CES), Carleton University
- Joanne Smyth, Reference and Distance Education Librarian, University of New Brunswick
- John Dupuis, Science Librarian & Head Librarian, Steacie Science & Engineering Library
- Kimberly Silk, Data Librarian, Integrated Digital Scholarship Ecosystem (IDSE) at Canadian Research Knowledge Network
- Laurie Blanchard, Outreach Librarian, University of Manitoba Health Sciences Libraries
- Lindsay Ure, Reference Librarian, David Lam Library, UBC
- Lyle Ford, Engineering Librarian, University of Manitoba Libraries
- Monica Rettig, E-Learning/ Liaison Librarian at Brock University
- Nancy Collins, Communications and Liaison Librarian, Dana Porter Library
- Paul Pival, Public Services Systems Librarian, University of Calgary
- Randy Reichardt, Research Services Librarian (RSL) (Engineering), University of Alberta
- Rebecca Raworth, UVic Island Medical Program Librarian
- Rochelle Mazar, Emerging Technologies Librarian, University of Toronto
- Sarah Coysh, ELibrarian, York University Library