This guide is meant for self service. If at any time during the research process, should you feel the need for research support, then email me. We will arrange a convenient time to get together on Zoom, and other platforms.
The research process
- Get background information from handbooks, encyclopedias, dictionaries
- Once your topic is narrowly defined, select databases to find specific articles that have been published in journals
- Look for films and images as non-literary forms of representation
- Find books on your topic to gain greater depth and understanding
- examples: Library research
- Write down or store all the references you have consulted to include them in the bibliography of your research paper
- examples: Mendeley,
- Begin by defining exactly what you are searching for
- Select the keywords/synonyms/antonyms in your topic
- Be specific when determining keywords/synonyms/antonyms and terms to search
- Use the advanced interface of electronic databases and Internet search engines to help narrow your search
- Limit results in electronic databases to full-text or peer reviewed journals only
- Use Boolean Operators to connect search terms by understanding how search engines operate
- Google search secrets [electronic resource] / Christa Burns and Michael P. Sauers
- Take notes during your research to keep track of where you have been, keywords searched, what worked and what didn't, etc.
Sources of information
Publication Cycle: to find primary and secondary sources of information, use tertiary sources of information: dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks. When a researcher publishes material, they follow the cycle clockwise. To find primary and secondary sources, follow the cycle anti clockwise.
Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH) use controlled vocabulary to access and express the subject content of documents. Engineering Physics as a discipline has been divided into the following subjects or research areas. This is a searchable index. Click on a link below to display the Library's holdings in this area:
- Add keywords
- Use the filters on the left of the resulting screen
- Typical filters are Available Online and Peer Reviewed Journals
- Artificial intelligence
- Computational intelligence
- Computer science
- Earth sciences
- Earth sciences -- General
- Engineering -- Civil
- Engineering -- Environmental
- Environmental sciences
- Mathematical applications in environmental science
- Mathematical applications in geosciences
- Mathematical models
- Probability theory and stochastic processes
- Statistical theory and methods
- Statistics and probability
- Statistics for Engineering, Physics, Computer Science, Chemistry and Earth Sciences
- Statistics for Engineering, Physics, Computer Science, Chemistry and GeoSciences
- Waste water technology -- Water pollution control -- Water management -- Aquatic pollution
- Water resources
- OMNI: the Carleton University Library search portal. Please see Help With Using Omni
Databases tagged 'Engineering Physics'
Databases tagged 'Physics'
Databases tagged 'Engineering and Design'
Online journals by 'Subject'
Other recommended databases:
- American Institute of Physics Journals: Provides access to the journals of the American Institute of Physics.
- MathScinet: Consists of reviews and citations to the literature in mathematics and related areas. Two parts: Mathematical Reviews (updated monthly) and Current Mathematical Publications (updated daily). PEER REVIEWED
- SAGE Knowledge Encyclopedias: Carleton subscribes to the 2011 Encyclopedia Collection which provides perpetual access to 27 encyclopedias in the social sciences published between 2005-2011, as well as some other encyclopedias which have been ordered individually. Browse by Content Type: "Encyclopedias" and/or "Handbooks".
- SAGE Research Methods: With information on the full range of qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods for the social and behavioral sciences, as well as methods commonly used in the hard sciences, the book, reference, and journal content in SAGE Research Methods helps researchers of all levels conduct their research.
- Cases: Cases are peer-reviewed and come with pedagogical tools including learning objectives and discussions questions
- Datasets: Datasets is a collection of teaching datasets and instructional guides that give students a chance to learn data analysis by practicing themselves
- Video: Video contains more than 125 hours of video, including tutorials, case study videos, expert interviews, and more, covering the entire research methods and statistics curriculum
- COVID-19 Updates & Changes to Library Services
- Library memo re: students’ concerns regarding Library Access during COVID 19