European History - Western

Changes to Library services during the COVID-19 lockdown.

Welcome

Your assignments at university are an invitation to join a scholarly conversation by exploring topics in depth, formulating a unique research question, examining the research of others along with primary sources, building an argument, and drawing your own conclusions.  A good research topic is one that sparks your interest and allows you to ask new questions in order to find meaningful answers. This guide is intended to help you get started.

Pick a research topic

Use dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks to find definitions, introductions and overviews of your topic

Search Omni, the library's main search box to easily find peer-reviewed journal articles on any topic.  Remember to refine your search by selecting the following options: Peer-Reviewed Journals, Articles and Subject (optional) to obtain high quality, academic literature.

You can also search databases by subject to find journal articles. They offer many advanced search features and search results tend to be more precise.

Key Databases for Journal Articles: 

Additional Databases: 

Dissertations and Theses

Begin with the Primary, Secondary and Tertiary Sources overview.

Searching for primary sources on Omni:

Search your topic (or historical person of interest) using Omni, library's main search box to find primary sources (or reproductions) in our collection. Add the following words to your keyword searches to help identify identify primary materials in the library's collection:

  • Diar* (for diary or diaries)
  • Correspondence
  • Letters
  • Memoir
  • Personal narrative
  • Recollections
  • Reminiscences
  • Journal
  • Sources

 Other search tips:

Historical Newspaper Databases

Primary Sources on the web

Other libraries with significant primary source collections:

 

 

 

Electronic Text Books

Search Tip:

  • Find Open Access books while searching Omni.  When refining your search results, select the Open Access and Books filters (in left column).
Content last updated: June 16, 2020