Explore Your Topic

Explore your topic using Summon. Summon makes it possible to search across many of the library's collections simultaneously. Your search will include books, ebooks, journal titles, games, music, videos, government information, maps, and more.

However,  Summon doesn't search everything that the library owns or subscribes to so you will still need to search other resources to find everything that you need. 

When to use Summon

  • When starting research on a topic
  • If you are not sure which databases to use

Reference Materials

Use these to get an overview of your topic or to find definitions of key terms and concepts:

Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text
The database indexes over 300 journals with some full-text coverage (of over 70 journals and 50 books) covering the entire spectrum of television and film writing. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.

FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database
Contains over 500,000 article citations from more than 345 film periodicals, including linked full text to over 60 journals.

AFI Catalog
A national filmography documenting the history of American cinema. Cataloging currently covers the years 1893-1975 comprehensively, with additional records covering selected major films from 1976 onwards.

Communication and Mass Media Complete
Contains articles and citations for various communications publications.

Google Scholar
Provides a multidisciplinary search for scholarly literature. Indexes peer reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.

Humanities Index
Humanities Index is an international abstracting and indexing tool for research in the humanities. It covers internationally respected humanities journals and weekly magazines published in the UK and other English speaking countries, as well as quality newspapers published in the UK.

JSTOR
Provides access to the complete archives of major journals in a variety of subjects. JSTOR is a "moving wall" archive: newer years are added as publishers allow. For example, one journal may cover everything up to 3 years ago, while another may cover everything up to 5 years ago.

Library Resources

NFB.ca
Watch films produced by the National Film Board of Canada. Includes historical films dating back to 1928 to current contemporary releases, including award-winning documentaries, animation and fiction.

Films on Demand
Collection of streaming educational videos that cover a wide spectrum of disciplines. Contains both clips and full-length videos.

Films on Demand includes the World Cinema Collection.

Library DVD Collection
The library's video collection is housed in our Reserves room. Since the shelves are not browsable, it is best to do a catalogue search for the title of the movie you are looking for. You can then bring the title and call number to Reserves on the main floor of the library.

Other Resources

British Pathe
Now considered to be the finest newsreel archive in the world, British Pathé is a treasure trove of 85,000 films unrivalled in their historical and cultural significance.

Moving Image Archive
This library contains digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts. Many of these videos are available for free download.