- Dictionary of Fire Protection Engineering
- Encyclopedia of fire protection
- National Fire Code of Canada
Key Databases to find journal articles:
- ASCE Research Library
- EI Engineering Village
- Google Scholar
- IEEE Xplore Digital Library
- International Security and Counter Terrorism Reference Center
- Science Direct Journals
- Scholars Portal Journals
- Web of Science
Theses and Dissertations:
- Dissertations and Theses Global: Theses and dissertations from around the world.
- Dissertations and Theses@Carleton: Theses and dissertations produced at Carleton.
- CURVE: Includes Carleton theses and dissertations, as well as other research deposited by faculty, staff, and students.
Full text eBook Collections:
- Knovel Library
- eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)
- Scholars Portal Books
- Springer eBooks
- Taylor & Francis eBooks
Publication Cycle (Engineering & Science): to find primary and secondary sources of information, use tertiary sources of information: dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks. When a researcher publishes material, they follow the cycle clockwise. To find primary and secondary sources, follow the cycle anti clockwise.
- Begin by defining exactly what you are searching for
- Select the keywords/synonyms in your topic
- Be specific when determining keywords/synonyms and terms to search
- Use the advanced interface of electronic databases and Internet search engines to help narrow your search
- Limit results in electronic databases to full-text or peer reviewed journals only
- Use Boolean Operators to connect search terms (Click for a brief explanation of Boolean Operators)
- Take notes during your research to keep track of where you have been, keywords searched, what worked and what didn't, etc.
- Google search secrets [electronic resource] / Christa Burns and Michael P. Sauers.
- Citing your sources
- Citation Management
- Writing Services
- Writing a Literature Review