Food Science and Nutrition

Changes to Library services during the COVID-19 lockdown.

Research Tip Sheet - for systematically searching academic databases (+ video tutorial | 2:25)

Key Databases

Web of Science (+ video tutorial | 9:47)

  • Multidisciplinary, focused on the sciences (integrated with EndNote)

PubMed (+ video tutorial | 9:01)

  • Biomedical literature, allows you to search using MeSH terms (medical subject headings)

More Databases to Explore

AGRICOLA

  • Focused on all aspects of agriculture, including plant sciences, aquaculture, farming, and food and human nutrition

ASM Journals Online

  • Microbiological Sciences

ClinicalTrials.gov

  • Registry and results database for clinical studies of human participants conducted around the world

Cochrane Library

  • High-quality, independent evidence used to inform healthcare decision-making

PubChem

  • Chemical information including molecular formula and structures, physical properties, biological activities, safety and toxicity information, and more

SAGE Journals Online

  • Includes Health Sciences and Life & Biomedical Sciences

SciFinder

Scholars Portal Journals

  • Includes Agriculture Sciences, Chemistry, Health Sciences, and Medical Sciences

Scopus

  • Multi-disciplinary, focused on the sciences

SpringerLink Journals

  • Includes Medicine & Public Health, Life Sciences, Biomedicine, and more

Ebook Central

  • Includes Health & Medicine, Agriculture, Chemical Engineering, Biology, and more

Knovel Library (scroll down to select Knovel: Food Science)

  • Reference materials on food ingredients, safety, quality, manufacturing, processing, nutrition, storage, and preservation

Merck Manuals

  • Thousands of topics in all medical fields, authored by medical experts

National Academies Press eBooks

  • From the United States' National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine

Oxford Reference Online

  • Reference materials including dictionaries, encyclopedias, and more

Scholars Portal Books

  • From most major academic publishers

Wiley Online Books: Food Science & Technology

  • Subjects include Agriculture, Aquaculture, Biomedical Engineering, Health and Health Care, Medical Science, and more

Also note that all of Carleton's ebooks can be found through the library's homepage, using the large search box.  Conduct a keyword search, then isolate to Available Online (under Availability) + Books (under Resource Type)

Films on Demand

  • Subjects include Biology, Environmental Science, and Health & Medicine

JoVE Journal of Visualized Experiments

  • Peer-reviewed videos documenting techniques and protocols in biological sciences (note the limited content we subscribe to: Biology, Developmental Biology, Genetics, and Neuroscience)

YouTube

Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations

  • Leading international efforts to defeat hunger, achieve food security for all, and make sure that people have regular access to enough high-quality food to lead active, healthy lives

Health Care: Public Policy and Statistics

  • Extensive guide for sources of international government information on public policy and statistics

Health Nutrition and Population Statistics

  • From the World Bank, provides key health, nutrition, and population statistics gathered from a variety of international and national sources

Register for EndNote Basic (free) + video tutorial | 11:27

  • These credentials will also be used for Web of Science
  • Good idea to use your Carleton email address
  • Integrates with Microsoft Word

Once registered and logged into EndNote, click the Downloads tab along the top

  • Cite While You Write is an add-on for Microsoft Word, which works with your EndNote account for creating references and bibliographies
  • Capture Reference creates a reference from a website (drag the Capture Reference button to your browser's bookmarks bar)

Open Microsoft Word

  • Click the EndNote tab and enter your credentials
  • Under Preferences, Application, ensure EndNote online is selected and click OK
  • Next to Style, select your citation style (in this case CSE Style Manual 8th Edition N-Y)

Online Citation Quick Guide (to verify CSE formatting)

Journal Citation Reports for abbreviated journal titles

Content last reviewed: August 5, 2020