If you're not sure where to start your research this guide will point you to some of the best starting points. Don't forget, you can always get in touch directly with any questions you may have.
Language Dictionaries (a small selection)
- Le Petit Robert For students enrolled in French classes. You must get the login and password from the French Dept or contact Research Support Services in the Library
- Word Reference Includes English-French/French English dictionaries as well as a user forum where you can ask questions
- Larousse French Dictionaries includes a general dictionary with explanatory notes to help you avoid common linguistic errors, a
dctionary of synonyms and antonyms, dictionary of idioms and expressions, dictionary of homonyms, dctionary of quotations, verb tables, and a number of bilingual dictionaries
- Le grand dictionnaire terminologiqe: The Quebec government official terminology dictionary. Good for finding the proper word for business, government, professions...
- Termium Plus: similar to above, it is the Canadian government's official dictionary including terms in English, French, and Spanish
- Trésor de la langue française informatisé (TLFi): Kind of like the Oxford English Dictionary for French: vast historical and eymological dictionary.
If you want a print dictionary you can borrow for your use, head up to the 3rd floor and browse these call number areas:
(NOTE: even if it is stamped "for reference only" you may borrow it)
- PC2625 : For French only dictionaries
- PC2640: For French- English dictionaries
- PC3637-3643: For Quebec/Canadian French dictionaries
- Bescherelle, 3 vol, (2006)
Call Number: PC2112.B47 2006 see availability
- Le conjugueur
- Le devoir conjugal: from the University of Alberta. Let's you both conjugate verbs, or generate practice exercises
Batchelor, R.E. & Chebli-Saadi, M. (2011). A reference grammar of French
Call Number: PC2112.B356 2011 see availability
(for more detailed linguistic study of the language)
Grevisse, M. & Goosse, A. (2008). Le bon usage: grammaire française
Call Number PC2112.G65 2008 see availability
(older editions also available)
Heminway, A. (2007). Complete French grammar
L'Huillier, M. (1999). Advanced French grammar
Floor 3, PC2112.L485 see availability
Perramond, D. B. (1997). Composition et grammaire de texte
Fagyal, Z. (2006). French: a linguistic introduction
Call Number PC2073.F34 2006 see availability
Gess, R. , Lyche, C., & Meisenburg, T. (2012). Phonological variation in French: illustrations from three continents
Call Number: PC2131.P47 2012, see availability
Huot, H. (2012). La morphologie: forme et sens des mots français
Call Number: PC2171.H957 2012 see availability
Rowlett, P. (2007). The syntax of French
Call Number: PC2361.R69 2007 see availability
General Search tips:
- Note that even if you limit your search to books or articles published in French often the Subject Headings, abstracts etc will be in English
- This means that if you want to make sure you don't miss a good source, you can try both French and English keywords.
- You can combine this into all one search, or do separate searches using English keywords and then another using the equivalent French keywords
Example: psycholog* [ the * is used as a wildcard: this search will find all of the following forms psychology, psychologie, psychologique, psychological...
Example: music OR musique
- In general, don't worry about diacritics (accents), these are usually ignored in searches.
- Summon : the one-search box on the Library's home page. Look for a specific title, or use keywords to find books on a topic. Use the filters on the results page to refine your search results. For example you can limit to books (content filter) that are written in French (language filter)
- Library catalogue: You can also search directly in the catalogue
- University of Ottawa library: as a larger and bilingual university the U of O collection in French is much bigger than ours. You can borrow books from them using your Carleton Campus Card. Their E-books can be accessed on site at U of O only.
- WorldCat is a database that lets you search the collections of thousands of libraries around the world: if a book exists, it's likely you can find it here.
Free Full-Text E-book Collections:
There are many sources of free e-books. Sometimes we may have these listed in our catalogue, but often we do not. Depending on what you are looking for, some of these collections may be useful:
- ARTFL Project: full text of many classic French books, also access to subscripton databases such as B.A.S.I.L.E (Base internationale de Littérature Électronique)
- Athena: textes français
- Gallica: Bibliothèque nationale de France (National Library of France). Hundreds of thousands of digitzed books, maps, journal articles...
- Bibliothèque et archives nationales (Quebec): Collection numérique
- Bibliothèque Universelle (ABU). Full-text of francophone works in the public domain since 1993.
- Scholars Portal Books: Thousands of full-text books in both French & English. Includes the major Canadian university presses such as the University of Toronto Press, the UBC Press, Les Presses de l'Université du Québec and McGill-Queen's University Press.
To find books written in French:
- Erudit: Click on "livres et actes". Currently a small collection, but growing
- CAIRN : Click on "Ouvrages collectifs" and "ouvrages de référence" (this includes many titles from the "Que sais-je?" series )
Finding Journal Articles:
Our subject or discipline specific databases may allow you to find sources you can't find through Summon. They also often include other features (search, sort, result display, download...) that Summon does not have. All will let you find journal articles. Some will include books or book chapters.
- Proquest databases (can search individually, or together)
- MLA International Bibliography : covers literature and language/linguistics
- Cairn, Erudit, Persée, & Repère contain material written in French but that cover all subject areas
- Francis is a database available at the University of Ottawa only. It covers the humanities and social sciences. About 30% of the resources are in French and 40% are from European sources.
Finding Newspaper Articles in French
- Eureka.cc Full text of Canadian French and English newspapers, some from France (e.g. le Monde) , also includes full transcripts from Societe Radio Canada tv broadcasts
- PDF section: use this if you want to browse the full pdf image of a specific date of a newspaper. You can chose "most recent edition" , "specific date" or "date range"
- If you want to search for articles by keyword, use the search box. Advanced search screen will let you do more detailed search
- Factiva: for articles in French, delete the English under the Language option. You can also limit searches to news sources from particular geographic Regions or from a specific source (click on "all sources" and just start typing the source name)
- PressReader: Lets you read full image versions of newspapers and magazines. Download the optional App to save and read issues offline. You can also search for articles by keyword. Many ways to browse publications: by country, by language (there are 792 French publications!)
Journals which cover French as a language and French studies. Articles may be in English or French
- Babel (translation studies)
- Canadian Modern Language Review
- Dalhousie French Studies
- Etudes francophones
- French Cultural Studies
- French Politics, Culture & Society
- French Review
- Globe: revue internationale d'études québécoises
- International Journal of Francophone Studies
- Journal of French Language Studies
- Langue française
- META (translating & interpreting)
- Quebec Studies
- Yale French Studies
General interest magazines, in French, which may be useful for practicing your reading skills
- L'actualité (Quebec's general interest news magazine, rather like Maclean's, Time...
- La Nouvelle revue française
- Revue des deux mondes
- Temps modernes
- Language Portal of Canada / Portail linguistique du Canada
- Bibliotheque National de France
- Biblibothèque et Archives National. Quebec: education links to full text sources, audio, video...
- Amélioration du français from the Centre collégial de développement de matériel didactique (CCDMD) material both for students and teachers of French at the CEGEP level
- Banque d'exercises de français from the government of Quebec, online exercises to practice French at beginner, intermeidate, advanced levels
- le Français au micro and C'est la vie (especially the Word of the Day segment) are both radio programs from the SRC/CBC that are informative and entertaining on the topic of language and Quebec culture
- Visez Juste (University of Ottawa) aims to help improve spoken and written French, has sections on vocabulary, grammar, writing/editing, spelling, speaking.
- We have a lot of music CDs in our collection. You can search Summon for a particular piece of music or artist. If you'd like to browse all of our French music CDs, the best way is to go directly to the Advanced Search in our library catalogue and use the * as your keyword, limit language to French and Material type to sound recordings:
Listening to Music
- Radio Canada - Musique
- Poste d'écoute: lets you listen to previews of songs from over 2000 Québec albums
- Quebec Radio Stations live broadcast on internet
In our Collection (For more details see our Find Videos guide)
- You can borrow videos from the Library's collection for 3 days at a time (with 2 renewals).
- You can pre-book a video for a specific date by using the "Book this Title" button in the catalogue
- You can search for videos that are either in French or have French subtitles by doing an advanced keyword search in our catalogue and choosing to limit to just the video collection. TIP: to browse ALL films in French/with French subtitles use * as your keyword:
- Films on Demand: streaming subscription service available through the Library. To see just French films in the collection choose Browse Videos from the menu, then go to the World Languages section and choose French.
- Check out iTunesU on iTunes to see if any French courses have been posted online.
- BBC Languages: French resources for learning French including audio, video... (no longer being updated, but lots of info here)
- French & Francophone TV stations
- Office national du film du Canada over 800 films in French can be watched online
- Radio Canada - TV
- V (Quebec)
- YouTube: search for French language videos of all kinds
Where to find foreign films in Ottawa:
- Bytowne Cinema: often screens foreign language films (with English subtitles)
- Alliance Française - Ottawa: check their cultural events schedule for film screenings
- The Ottawa Film Society has an International series which may have films from France
- Cross a bridge and go and see a film on the Québec side of the river
The most common citation style used in literature is the MLA (Modern Language Association) style. If you're not sure what style to use, check with your professor or T.A.
- Purdue Online Writing Lab: MLA Formatting & Style Guide. They give examples of all kinds of references, both how to cite within your text as well as how to format the bibliography. Also includes a sample paper
- MLA Style Center : official MLA site, includes an FAQ and ability to post questions
- You can also just google: "how do I cite xxxx in mla", which will lead to reputable sites(look for.edu or other university web sites). Example: "how do I cite a video in MLA"
|If you want to know more about citation management tools such as Zotero, Mendeley, and EndNote come to one of our workshops during the fall and winter terms. These tools can help you gather, organize, and automatically format your references/citations in MLA format|
General Writing Help:
Want some one-on-one help with your writing?
Soutien écrit: provided by the French department @ Carleton University
Ballenger, B. P. (2012). The curious researcher: a guide to writing research papers, 7th ed.
Call Number: LB2369.B246 2012 see availability
Besnard, C. (2010). Apprivoiser l'écrit: techniques de l'écrit et stratégies d'auto-perfectionnement.
Also in print, Call Number: PC2420.B48 see availability
Graff, G. & Birkensteain, C. (2014). "They say / I say": the moves that matter in academic writing
Call Number PE1431.G73 2014 see availability
Harris, R. A. (2002). Using sources effectively: Strengthening your writing and avoiding plagiarism
Call Number: PN146.H37 2002 see availability
de Moras, N. (2010). Guide d'écriture: la composition de A à Z
Call Number: PC2410.M688 2010 see availability
Northey, M. (2007). Making sense : a student's guide to research and writing, 5th ed.
Call Number: LB2369.N67 2006 see availability
Pilote, C. (2012). Guide littéraire: analyse, plan, rédaction, procédeés, genres, courants.
Call Number: PC2420.P57 2012 see availability
Shields, M. (2010). Essay writing: a student's guide
Call Number: PE1471.S45 see availability