Welcome to the library resource guide for Games and Interactive Media at Carleton University. Scroll down to the Reference Materials section to find Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, and Handbooks.
Get background information from handbooks, encyclopedias, dictionaries.
Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
- Encyclopedia of Information Science and Technology
- Encyclopedia of children, adolescents, and the media / [edited by] Jeffrey Jensen Arnett.
- Combinatorial games : tic-tac-toe theory / József Beck.
- The Sage handbook of e-learning research / edited by Richard Andrews and Caroline Haythornthwaite.
Once your topic is narrowly defined, select databases to find specific articles that have been published in journals.
- ACM Digital Library
- IEEE Xplore Digital Library
- Safari Books Online
- SPIE Digital Library Database
- 365 : AIGA year in design
- Alternative Press Index. Peer Review
- Animation Magazine. Peer Review
- Computer animation and virtual worlds [electronic resource].
- Computer gaming world [electronic resource]
- Computer graphics. Peer Review
- Computer graphics world [electronic resource]. Peer Review
- Computers & graphics
- Computers in entertainment [electronic resource].
- Daedalus. Peer Review
- DOAJ - Directory of Open Access Journals
- Electronic gaming monthly [electronic resource]. Peer Review
- First Person Scholar: The Study of Play
- Game studies [electronic resource] : the international journal of computer game research.
- Games and culture [electronic resource]. Peer Review
- IEEE Computer Graphics and Applications. Peer Review
- IEEE Transactions on Computational Intelligence and AI in Games
- International journal of computer games technology [electronic resource].
- Journal of educational multimedia and hypermedia [electronic resource]. Peer Review
- Journal of interactive learning research [electronic resource].
- Journal of Virtual Reality and Broadcasting
- Journal of Visual Culture. Peer Review
- Loading.... [electronic resource] a journal of the Canadian Game Studies Association.
- Simulation & games.
- Simulation & Gaming. Peer Review
- The Writing center journal [electronic resource]. Peer Review
Find books on your topic to gain greater depth and understanding.
Les cartes à jouer du XIVe au XXe siècle / par Henry-René D'Allemagne.
- Books and Serials on Games are shelved at these locations in the Library of Congress system: GV1-1860. New titles.
- Books on Computer games. Video games. Fantasy games GV1469.15-1469.62
- Books on Board games. Move games (Including chess, go, checkers, etc.) GV1312-1469
- Find Books By Topic
- Animation General Works TR897.5
- Anime, History of Animation, Individual Animators, Animated Characters NC1766
- C++ QA 73 C153
- Calculus QA76.76.C672
- Censorship NC1766.5.C45
- Computer Animation General Works TR897.7
- Computer Animation Morphing TR897.75
- Computer Science - Computer Software QA76.5-QA 76.9
- Drawing for Animation, Anime, Cartoons- General Works NC1765
- Drawing, Design, Illustration NC1765-NC1766.5
- Interfaces, Usability QA76.9
- Multimedia Systems QA76.575
- Programming Languages, Operating Systems QA76.73-QA 76.76
- Texturing & Modeling QA76.6
- Trick Cinematography/ Special Effects TR858
Suggested Subject Headings:
- Character Design
- Computational Video
- Computer Games
- Computer games Social aspects
- Computer-generated Art
- Computer Graphics
- Computer Vision and Video Processing
- Concept Art
- Content Based Image and Video Indexing and Retrieval
- Digital Libraries
- Educational Gaming
- Game Art
- Game Design Industry
- Game Production
- Image Processing
- Video games Social aspects
Fulltext eBook Collections:
- Publication Cycle (Engineering & Science): to find primary and secondary sources of information, use tertiary sources of information: dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks. When a researcher publishes material, they follow the cycle clockwise. To find primary and secondary sources, follow the cycle anti clockwise.
- Begin by defining exactly what you are searching for.
- Select the keywords/synonyms in your topic.
- Be specific when determining keywords/synonyms and terms to search.
- Use the advanced interface of electronic databases and Internet search engines to help narrow your search
- Limit results in electronic databases to full-text or peer reviewed journals only
- Use Boolean Operators to connect search terms (Click for a brief explanation of Boolean Operators)
- Take notes during your research to keep track of where you have been, keywords searched, what worked and what didn't, etc.
- Googlepedia [electronic resource]: the ultimate Google resource / Michael Miller.
- Google search secrets [electronic resource] / Christa Burns and Michael P. Sauers.
More Writing & Citing Resources:
Write down or store all the references you have consulted to include them in your bibliography of your research paper (e.g., Mendeley)
- Advice on Research and Writing
- IEEE Citation Style Guide
- Citing Electronic Resources
- Technical Report Writing (NASA)
- Academic Writing Centre and the Writing Tutorial Service (Carleton University)
- Writing Guidelines for Engineering and Science Students
- The craft of editing : a guide for managers, scientists, and engineers / Michael Alley.
- Conducting research literature reviews : from the Internet to paper / Arlene Fink.
- The literature review : a step-by-step guide for students / Diana Ridley.
- Scientific writing and communication : papers, proposals, and presentations / Angelika H. Hofmann.
- Annual Reviews Online / Authoritative, analytic reviews in 34 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences. They synthesize the vast amount of primary research literature and identify the principal contributions in each field.
- Khan Academy: Watch. Practice. Learn almost anything for free.
- Films On Demand is a web-based digital video delivery platform which provides access to streaming videos from Films Media Group.
- Games AND (Interactive OR Immersive) Media videos
The Library collects a variety of games and game-related media. Most can be borrowed from the library with a valid Library card. Get a complete listing
Video Game Emulations
DOSGamesArchive.com This site contains DOS games in their archive that can be downloaded for free.