This guide is designed for masters and Phd students in the Department of Geography and Environmental Studies.
Thesis & Dissertation Writing Guides:
- How to do your dissertation in geography and related disciplines
- Mapping your thesis; the comprehensive manual of theory and techniques for masters and doctoral research, LB2369.W49 2011, Floor 4
- Research literacies and writing pedagogies for masters and doctoral writers
- Writing your doctoral dissertation or thesis: a proven map to success
Other Writing Guides for Geography research and proposal writing
- Communicating in geography and environmental sciences, G70.H35 2012, RSV
- Making Sense; a student's guide to research and writing: geography and environmental sciences, G74.N67 2015, RSV Floor 2
Literature Review Writing Guides
- Conducting a Literature Review web guide
- Conducting research literature reviews: from the Internet to paper
- The literature review : a step-by-step guide for students, LB2369.R525 2012, RSV Floor 2
Dissertations and Theses Global - Discover dissertations and theses published by educational institutions from around the world, from 1743 to the present (some full text available from 1997 - present)
Foreign Doctoral Dissertations - 700,000 doctoral dissertations from outside the U.S. and Canada
- Ottawa Resource Collection
- Indigenous Films
- Archived Web Content - contains City of Ottawa, Planning and Development documents and LRT information
Search Omni, the library's main search box to find books, journal articles, newspaper articles, videos, and many other types of published literature. Omni searches almost all of our collections and databases, simultaneously. If you know the title of a specific book, journal article, or journal, just type in the full title in the search box. See also our Omni Help guide.
If you are keyword searching:
- Combine keywords with AND
- Combine synonyms with OR
- Use quotations marks to enclose phrases, ie: "global warming"
- Use truncation * (asterisk) at the end of a root word to find all forms of the word, ie: mineral* (will retrieve minerals, mineralogy, mineralogical, etc.)
- After you get your results, use the filters on the left side of the screen to refine your search.
Note: If you are searching from off campus, you must login if you want to be able to access the full text of journal articles and electronic resources.
Search Google Scholar via Carleton Library to seamlessly connect to the full text of journal articles that are part of the library's collection.
You can also search subject-specific databases to find journal articles. They offer many advanced search features, only contain scholarly literature and search results are more precise. Consult the following recommended lists:
Note: If the library does not have what you need, you can order books and journal articles from other libraries through RACER but you need to register before you can start using it.
Cited Reference Searching is most often used for finding articles that cite a particular work. Many databases provide citation counts for individual articles.
Why is this important?
Keeping track of who has cited a given work can help you gauge the impact that article has in the discipline
If the article has been cited, the database will provide a link to the citing articles
Search Alerts Help Guide - search alerts are a current awareness service that helps researchers stay current in what is being published in their field via email.
Send an email to firstname.lastname@example.org to register for a workshop, or arrange for a one-on-one consultation session.
Consult the Citation Management Help Guide for more information. There are many free citation management systems available. The library provides support for the following:
Sage Research Methods is designed to support researchers with writing a research question, choosing a method, gathering and analyzing data, to and writing up & publishing the findings.
Research Data Management
Research data, in any format, make up the results of observations, findings or outcomes of a research project. This includes any type of data, whether it be qualitative or quantitative. For more information on why you need a research data management plan and how to set one up, please consult the library's Research Data Management web page.
Books & Encyclopedias
- Conducting Research in Human Geography: theory, methodology and practice
- Elementary Statistics for Geographers (online)
- Geographic thought: a critical introduction
- Geographic thought: a praxis perspective
- International Encyclopedia of human geography
- Methods in human geography: guide for students doing a research project
- Qualitative research methods in human geography RSV GF21.Q83 2016, Floor 2
- Research methods in geography: a critical introduction
- The SAGE Handbook of interview research: the complexity of the craft (online)
- The SAGE Handbook of spatial analysis (online)
Nvivo is qualitative data analysis software intended to help researchers organize and analyze data, identify trends, and cross examine information in a variety of ways. Consult the NVIVO service web page for more information about this tool and training workshops.
Web Sites for Statistics and Data
- Publishing in Geography: a guide for new researchers, G74.P83 2009, Floor 5
- Publishing Graduate Student Research in Geography: The Fundamentals (CURVE repository link to journal article)
- Getting Published in Academic Journals; navigating the publication process, RSV Z286.S37P35 2016
- Ulrichsweb - provides detailed information on more than 300,000 periodicals of all types and is often used to identify where to publish your work
- Writing for Publication web guide
- Writing for Scholarly Journals (online video modules)
- Plain Language Writing (Youtube video)
- Writing Services @ Carleton University
Scholarly Communications and Open Access
Open Electronic Text Books
- BC Open Textbook Collection
- eCampus Ontario Open Library
- Mason OER Metafinder
- University of Manitoba OER
Omni Search tip: Find Open Access books while searching Omni. When refining your search resuslts, select the Open Access and Books filters (in left column).
Graduate Student Open Access Award
- $1000 award encourages Carleton graduates to make their work more widely available on the internet by publishing research in open access journals
SHERPA/RoMEO - standard tool for researchers to easily navigate academic publishers' copyright and self-archiving policies when depositing scholarly articles in an institutional repository.
CURVE is Carleton's institutional repository which collects, preserves and provides open access to the academic research output and creative works of Carleton faculty and scholars.
- What is an ORCID and do I need one?
- In brief, an ORCID is a digital identifier that distinguishes you from every other researcher through integration in key research workflows such as manuscript and grant submission, and automated links between you and your professional activities.
Journal Rankings and Metrics
Journal-rankings (metrics or bibliometrics) is used to measure the ranking impact of a journal as a whole. They can also be used for:
- preparing your portfolio
- assessing the impact and quality of a journal relative to a particular discipline or field through ranking
- tenure and promotion in academia
- publication venue choices
- collection building and assessment
Thesis Guidelines @ Carleton University