Explore your topic
Introducing Summon - which makes it possible to search across many of the library's collections simultaneously. Including books, ebooks, journal titles, games, music, videos, government information, maps, and more.
However, Summon doesn't search everything that the library owns or subscribes to so you will still need to search other resources to find everything that you need. Summon also doesn't let you do sophisticated searches that you may be used to doing in specific databases or the library catalogue.
When to use Summon
- When starting research on a topic
- If you are not sure which databases to use
For assistance using Summon please contact the Research Help Desk.
Use these to get an overview of your topic or to find definitions of key terms and concepts.
- Blackwell Dictionary of Twentieth Century Social Thought
- Companion to Western Historical Thought
- Dictionary of Concepts in History
- Encyclopedia of Historians and Historical Writing
- Global Encyclopedia of Historical Writing
- New Dictionary of the History of Ideas
- Oxford Companion to Philosophy
- The Palgrave Macmillan Dictionary of Political Thought
- Study of History: A Bibliographical Guide
Key Databases for Journal Articles:
- America History and Life (covers Canada and the United States)
- Historical Abstracts (covers the rest of the world)
TIP: America History and Life and Historical Abstracts can be searched together:
Open either one of these databases
At the TOP of the search page click on "Choose Databases"
Tick off America History and Life and Historical Abstracts
Begin your search
By connecting via Carleton Library, you will be able to seamlessly connect to the fulltext of articles that are part of the library's collection.
Journal Article Annotations:
For more journal articles see the full list of databases available by subject.
- Historical Thinking Project (Canadian Heritage)
- Center for the Study of Historical Consciousness (University of British Columbia)
- Historiography of World History
- International Society for Intellectual History
- Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
- Online History Workbook (Trent University)
- Philosophy of History (Stanford University)
- Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media (George Mason University)
- Storia della Storiografia / History of Historiography