This guide is designed for masters and Phd students in the Department of History.
- From concept to completion : a dissertation-writing guide for history students
- Mapping your thesis : the comprehensive manual of theory and techniques for masters and doctoral research
- Research literacies and writing pedagogies for masters and doctoral writers
Literature Review Writing Guides
- The literature review : a step-by-step guide for students
- Conducting research literature reviews: from the Internet to paper
- Dissertations and Theses Global - Discover dissertations and theses published by educational institutions from around the world, from 1743 to the present (some full text available from 1997 - present)
- Foreign Doctoral Dissertations - 700,000 doctoral dissertations from outside the U.S. and Canada
Library Catalogue Help
- How to search the library catalogue
- Advanced keyword searching
- Enable my reading history
- Other Library Catalogues
Use Summon to perform 'one search' to find books, journal articles, newspaper articles, videos, and many other types of published literature. It searches almost all of our collections and databases, simultaneously.
If you know the title of a specific book, journal article, or journal, just type in the full title in the search box. If not do a KEYWORD search.
When you get your results, use the filters on the left side of the screen to Refine your search.
Note: If you are searching Summon from off campus, you must login if you want to be able to access the full text of journal articles and ebooks.
These databases can be searched simultaneously:
- Open either one of these databases
- At the TOP of the search page click on "Choose Databases"
- Tick off America History and Life and Historical Abstracts
- Click OK
- Begin your search
BOOLEAN searching in the databases:
- Combine keywords with AND
- Combine synonyms with OR
- Use truncation * (asterisk) at the end of a root word to find all forms of the word, ie: mineral* (will retrieve minerals, mineralogy, mineralogical, etc.)
Search Google Scholar via Carleton Library to seemlessly connect to the fulltext of articles that are part of the library's collection. Consult the Google Scholar Search Tips guide for helpful more information.
You can also search subject-specific databases to find journal articles. They offer many advanced search features, only contain scholarly literature and search results are more precise. Consult the following recommended lists:
Note: If the library does not have what you need, you can order books and journal articles from other libraries through RACER but you need to register before you can start using it.
For information on historical newspapers please see the following page: Newspapers
Get a RACER account from the Interlibrary Loans Department in order to order material from other libraries.
Cited Reference Searching
Cited Reference searching is most often used for finding articles that cite a particular work. Many databases provide citation counts for individual articles.
Why is this important?
- Keeping track of who has cited a given work can help you gauge the impact that article has in the discipline
- To find citation counts for history, use Web of Science, or Scopus
- If the article has been cited, the database will provide a link to the citing articles
- Cited Reference Searching Help Guide
Search Alerts Help Guide - search alerts are a current awareness service that helps researchers stay current in what is being published in their field via email.
There are many free citation or document management systems available. The library provides support for the following:
- EndNote Basic
Attend a workshop that demonstrates the common features of these tools. Send an email to firstname.lastname@example.org to register for a workshop, or arrange for one-on-one consultation.
Consult the Citation Management Help Guide for more information.
Sage Research Methods is designed to support researchers with writing a research question, choosing a method, gathering and analyzing data, to and writing up & publishing the findings.
Books & Encyclopedias
- Research methods for history
- The information-literate historian : a guide to research for history students
- Using non-textual sources: a historian's guide
- The Routledge companion to historical studies
- History of oral history : foundations and methodology
Nvivo is qualitative data analysis software intended to help researchers organize and analyze data, identify trends, and cross examine information in a variety of ways. Consult the NVIVO service web page for more information about this tool and training workshops.
- Getting published in the humanities: what to know, where to aim, how to succeed
- Write it up : practical strategies for writing and publishing journal articles
- Writing for Publication (how to guide & online modules)
- CURVE is Carleton's insitutional repository which collects, preserves and provides open access to the academic research output and creative works of Carleton faculty and scholars.
Graduate Student Open Access Award
- $1000 award encourages Carleton graduates to make their work more widely available on the internet by publishing research in open access journals
Citation-based metrics used for ranking journals. This may be important for:
- preparing your portfolio
- assesing the impact and quality of a journal relative to a particular discipline
- tenure and promotion in academic circles
- Consult the Journal Rankings Help Guide for more information