Welcome to the subject guide for Holocaust Education. This guide is a collaboration between MacOdrum Library and the Centre for Holocaust Education and Scholarship (CHES) at the Max and Tessie Zelikovitz Centre for Jewish Studies (ZC) at Carleton University.
Reference materials are a valuable resourse when exploring a topic. Use dictionaries to help with terminology. Encyclopedias provide background information, an overview of topics and issues and often lead you to further readings.
- Encyclopedia of the Holocaust / Israel Gutman (1990) D804.3.E53 (vols. 1-4)
- Holocaust Encyclopedia - from the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum
- Encyclopaedia Judaica / Fred Skolnik, Michael Berenbaum (2007)
- Historical dictionary of the Holocaust / Jack R. Fischel (1999) D804.25.F57
- A world in turmoil : an integrated chronology of the Holocaust and World War II / Hershel Edelheit, Abraham J. Edelheit (1991) D804.3.E34
- The holocaust : an annotated bibliography (1980) / STF D810.J4 BIBL 35
- The Study of Judaism : bibliographical essays / Richard Bavier, et. al. (1972) BM50 BIBL .S8 v.1
- Bibliography on Holocaust literature / Abraham J. Edelheit, Hershel Edlheit (1986) D804.3 BIBL .E33 and Supplement D804.3 BIBL .E33 SUP
The Routledge atlas of the Holocaust / Martin Gilbert (2009) G1797.21.E29 G483 2009
Carleton Discovery - Primo VE Searching
The library has a new search tool that allows you do just one search to find books, newspaper articles, journal articles. You can also search for books in Carleton Discovery - Primo VE and databases to find journal articles, but the Carleton Discovery - Primo VE tool gives you another option as it searches both at the same time. Caution: Carleton Discovery - Primo VE does not include databases used when searching for data, statistics and some grey literature.
- Use keywords only, do not search using a full sentence
- Use quotation marks when searching a phrase "Holocaust educatioin"
- Combine keywords for different ideas with AND
- Combine synonyms or similar words for an idea with OR
- Use the * at the end of the root of a word to find all the forms of that word
Results for books and ebooks are high in Carleton Discovery - Primo VE as this search tool retrieves relevant articles or chapters within books.
If something is available in paper copy in the library Carleton Discovery - Primo VE will give you the floor location and the call number (which you need in order to find the item on the shelf). If something is available online, click on the "Full-text online" link.
Use Carleton Discovery - Primo VE to find books, government documents, conference proceedings, and journals. Only the titles of journals are included in Carleton Discovery - Primo VE: use the databases to search for individual article titles.
If you know the title of the item you seek, perform a TITLE search.
If you know the author, perform an AUTHOR search. Enter the author's name with the surname first.
Otherwise, try a KEYWORD search.
Use boolean operators AND/OR to create a relevant search statement.
Use the truncation symbol * when you want to allow for several spellings or variations on a word.
Compare the following searches -
holocaust and education - 141 hits
"holocaust education" - 14 hits
Scroll down to see the subject headings.
For biographies, do a keyword search
holocaust and biograph*
Some relevant subject headings are
Use the suggested databases befow to find scholarly journal articles. For interdiscplinary topics in religion, consult the library's subject guides for additional databases and key resourses.
A few tips:
1. Look at all writings by a relevant author and co-authors.
2. Explore the bibliography of a relevant article for more articles.
3. Discover if the articles have been cited since publication. Scroll further down to Citation Seaching for infomation and examples.
- ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials
- Arts & Humanities Database (previously Arts & Humanities Full Text)
- Index of Articles on Jewish Studies AI3 BIBL .I5 also available online at RAMBI – The Index of Articles on Jewish Studies
- Index to Jewish Periodicals
- PAIS Index (previously PAIS International)
- Sociological Abstracts
- America History and Life
- Historical Abstracts
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Good to know:
- Within a database, limit your search to scholarly articles when it is appropriate to disregard other resources.
- Never limit to full-text only as we may subscribe to the journal you find from another vendor. Use the Get it! icon to search for the full text when it is not immediately available.
- Use available options to search more than one database at a time.
- Look for the option to set up an RSS feed or to Create an Alert. You are then notified when a new entry is added to the database that meets your search criteria.
- Use the Interlibrary Loans RACER form to request items not held at Carleton’s library.
Search the internet for archival and primary sources.
- Web Sites and Institutions - excellent directory of organizations and websites maintained by Jewish Heritage Europe.
- The Central Archives for the History of the Jewish People Jerusalem (CAHJP)
- DigiBaeck | German-Jewish History Online
- International Tracing Service Digital Archive
- Yerusha (Europe)
- Canadian Jewish Archives
- Ontario Jewish Archives
- Ottawa Jewish Archives
- American Jewish Archives
A primary source is a document or physical object which was written or created during the time under study. These sources were present during an experience or time period and offer an inside view of a particular event. They may also present original thinking, new discoveries or new information collected at the time of an event.
Types of primary sources:
Original documents (including excerpts and translations): diaries, speeches, manuscripts, letters, interviews, technical reports, empirical studies (research based on scientific and experimental results), news film footage, autobiographies, official records, ancient literature, magazine and newspaper articles, public opinion polls, medical charts.
Creative works: poetry, drama, novels, printed music, sound recordings, art.
Relics or artifacts: pottery, furniture, clothing, buildings.
In Carleton Discovery - Primo VE look for documents by subject:
Holocaust, Jewish (1939-1945) -- Sources
For personal narratives:
Holocaust, Jewish (1939-1945) - Personal narratives
Or by country:
Holocaust, Jewish (1939-1945) - Hungary - Personal narratives
Look for images on the internet:
- Photo archive from the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum
- Photo archive and other digital collections from Vad Vashem The World Holocaust Center. Search by place, photographer, subject (e.g. memorial sites, post-war period) and click on the image to enlarge it.
- University of Minnesota Center for Holocaust & Genocide Studies (CHGS) Artistic Responses The artwork on this [CHGS] website represents a variety of artistic responses to the Holocaust. There is work done as a direct response, created by the victims. Much of this art was created in the camps and ghettos, or recreated immediately after the war in displaced persons camps due to the loss of the originals. - See more at: http://chgs.elevator.umn.edu/search/s/d5fcf610-fefb-4f56-9971-953365c73d8c
- Documenting numbers of victims of the Holocaust and Nazi persecution - USHMM
- National WWII Museum - New Orleans - provides statistics by country and by camp
- Canada and the Holocaust
- History of Canada and the Holocaust
- Canadian Holocaust Resources
Go to the official website of a country and search within it for holocaust documents.
- Holocaust Education, Remembrance and Research - U.S. Department of State (Archived Content)
- UK Country Report on holocaust education
- Britain’s Promise to Remember: The Prime Minister’s Holocaust Commission Report
Laws & Legistation
Using Carleton Discovery - Primo VE, do a keyword search to find books in the collection:
law and holocaust
There are also many good resourses from associations and organizations online:
- Contemporary Legal Lessons from the Holocaust - Jerusalem Center for Public Affairs
- United States Holocaust Memorial Museum has many articles on law, justice and the Holocaust. Use the search feature at the top right of the page.
- Antisemitism report in...
- annual country reports from CFCA The Coordination Forum for Countering Antisemitism
- SPLC - Southern Poverty Law Center
- The Holocaust: the Nuremberg Laws
Seach the library's map collection.
- The Routledge atlas of the Holocaust / Martin Gilbert (2009) G1797.21.E29.G483 2009
- Geographies of the Holocaust / Anne Kelly Knowles, et. al. (2014) G1797.21.S7.G47 2014
- Holocaust Magyarország 1944 (Hungary) / Sollun Bt. (1994) G6501.S7 1994 .S6
- Holocaust Budapest 1944 (1994) / Sollun Bt. G6504.B8S7 1994 .S6
- Jewish heritage in Poland (1995) G6521.E1 1995.P6
- Carte des camps et autre lieux de detention Nazis (Europe) (2009) G5701.S7 2009.I67
- United States Holocaust Memorial Museum - Maps including Mapping the Holocaust: Google Earth which has a GIS component to it.
- Maps of the Holocaust (American Experience)
- The Holocaust: Holocaust & World War II Maps (Jewish Virtual Library)
- Holocaust Concentration Camps
- The International Status of Education About the Holocaust (Unesco)
- The Holocaust in Contemporary Maps
The library has a growing film collection. Search Carleton Discovery - Primo VE by keyword search, and limit Contentl Type to "Streaming Video".
Search Watmedia: Media Catalog Search to locate videos at other Ontario universities. If you wish to borrow a video listed in Watmedia please fill out our Interfilm Video Request form - do not submit requests directly to Watmedia.
Since 2012, you may show a film in class without needing public performance rights as long as you are using a legal copy.
If you have any questions regarding public performance rights, please contact the Head of Access Services
Search for news sources both current and historicial from the library's collection of news databases.
The historical collection includes:
- The Globe and Mail: Canada's Heritage from 1844
- The Guardian (1821-2003)
- The New York Times (1851-2014)
- The Observer (1791-2003)
- Toronto Star: Pages of the Past (1894-2015)
- The Washington Post (1877-2001)
- Sunday Times Digital Archive (1822-2006)
- Times Digital Archive (1785-1985)
To find works on music and the holocaust, do a keyword search:
keyword music and holocaust
- Max and Tessie Zelikovitz Centre for Jewish Studies (Carleton University)
- Facing History and Ourselves - a nonprofit international educational and professional development organization. Browse the Holocaust topics. Create an account to download the publication Facing History and Ourselves: Holocaust and Human Behavior
- Montreal Memorial Holocaust Centre
- Yad Vashem - the World Holocaust Remembrance Center including educational & E-learning materials
- Sarah and Chaim Neuberger Holocaust Education Centre (UJA Federation of Greater Toronto)
- Vancouver Holocaust Education Centre
- Holocaust Literature Research Institute/Institut de recherche sur la Literature de la Holocauste (Western University in London, Ontario)
- Resources for Educators - United States Holocaust Memorial Museum
- The Holocaust: A Learning Site for Students (USHMM)
- Holocaust & Genocide Education (Univeristy of Minnesota)
- A Teacher's Guide to the Holocaust (University of South Florida)
- Educational Materials - The Holocaust and the United Nations Outreach Program
- Education Center - Polin Museum of the History of Polish Jews
- Jewish Museum London