This subject guide will assist you in finding books, journal articles, and websites, as well as assist you in developing your research skills.
Step #1: Get background information from handbooks, encyclopedias, dictionaries.
- Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
- Handbook of human centric visualization [electronic resource] / Weidong Huang, editor ; forword by Peter Eades.
- Handbook of usability testing [electronic resource] : how to plan, design, and conduct effective tests, second edition / Jeff Rubin, Dana Chisnell.
- The human-computer interaction handbook [electronic resource] : fundamentals, evolving technologies, and emerging applications / edited by Andrew Sears and Julie A. Jacko.
- Begin by defining exactly what you are searching for
- Select the keywords/synonyms in your topic
- Be specific when determining keywords/synonyms and terms to search
- Use the advanced interface of electronic databases and Internet search engines to help narrow your search
- Limit results in electronic databases to full-text or peer reviewed journals only
- Use Boolean Operators to connect search terms
- Take notes during your research to keep track of where you have been, keywords searched, what worked and what didn't, etc.
- Google search secrets [electronic resource] / Christa Burns and Michael P. Sauers.
Sources of Information
- The Publication Cycle: to find primary and secondary sources of information, use tertiary sources of information: dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks. When a researcher publishes material, they follow the cycle clockwise. To find primary and secondary sources, follow the cycle anti clockwise.
Step #2: Once your topic is narrowly defined, select databases to find specific articles that have been published in journals.
- ACM Digital Library
- EI Engineering Village
- IEEE Xplore Digital Library
- ACM transactions on computer-human interaction : a publication of the Association for Computing Machinery. Peer Reviewed
- Applied ergonomics. Peer Reviewed
- Behaviour & information technology [electronic resource]. PEER REVIEWED
- Computers in Human Behavior [electronic resource].
- Human-computer interaction [electronic resource] Peer Reviewed
- IEEE pervasive computing [electronic resource]. Peer Reviewed
- IEEE transactions on haptics [electronic resource] PEER REVIEWED
- Interacting with Computers [electronic resource]. PEER REVIEWED
- International journal of human-computer interaction [electronic resource]. PEER REVIEWED
- International journal of human-computer studies [electronic resource] Peer Reviewed
- Journal of the American Society for Information Science and Technology: JASIST PEER REVIEWED
- Personal and Ubiquitous Computing [electronic resource].
- User Modeling and User-Adapted Interaction [electronic resource]. PEER REVIEWED
Step #3: Find books on your topic to gain greater depth and understanding.
Books and Serials on HCI are shelved at these locations in the Library of Congress system:
- BF1-990 Psychology
- HM1-1281 Sociology
- QA71-90 Computer science
- T1-995 Technology (General)
- TA1-2040 Engineering (General). Civil engineering (General)
- TR1-1050 Photography
- Z665-718.8 Library & information sciences
We welcome your suggestions for books or other library materials you need for your study or research at Carleton.
Google Books >HCI
- About face 3 [electronic resource] : the essentials of interaction design / Alan Cooper, Robert Reimann, and Dave Cronin.
- Affective computing [electronic resource] / Rosalind W. Picard .
- Affective dialogue systems : tutorial and research workshop, ADS 2004, Kloster Irsee, Germany, June 14-16, 2004 ; proceedings / Elisabeth Andrâe ... [et al.].
- Affective interactions; toward a new generation of computer interfaces.
- The design of everyday things [electronic resource] / Donald A. Norman.
- Developing user interfaces [electronic resource] : ensuring usability through product & process / Deborah Hix, H. Rex Hartson.
- Emotions in Humans and Artifacts [electronic resource] / Robert Trappl, Paolo Petta and Sabine Payr (Eds.)
- End user development [electronic resource] / edited by Henry Lieberman, Fabio Paternò and Volker Wulf.
- The essential guide to user interface design [electronic resource] : an introduction to GUI design principles and techniques / Wilbert O. Galitz.
- Google Books >Human Computer Interaction
- GUI bloopers 2.0 [electronic resource] : common user interface design don'ts and dos / Jeff Johnson.
- Human-Computer Interaction: Third Ed. Alan Dix, Janel Finlay, Gregory Abowd, Russel Beale
- Interaction design [electronic resource] : beyond human-computer interaction / [Yvonne] Rogers, [Helen] Sharp, [Jenny] Preece.
- Measuring the user experience [electronic resource] : collecting, analyzing, and presenting usability metrics / Tom Tullis, Bill Albert.
- .NET internationalization [electronic resource] : the developer's guide to building global Windows and Web applications / Guy Smith-Ferrier.
- New trends on human-computer interaction [electronic resource] : research, development, new tools and methods / José A. Macías, Toni Granollers, Pedro Latorre Andrés ; foreword by Angel Puerta.
- Paper prototyping [electronic resource] : the fast and easy way to design and refine user interfaces / Carolyn Snyder.
- Project Gutenberg: offers over 42,000 free ebooks: choose among free epub books, free kindle books, download them or read them online.
- Sketching user experiences [electronic resource] : getting the design right and the right design / Bill Buxton.
- Software for use [electronic resource] : a practical guide to the models and methods of usage-centered design / Larry L. Constantine, Lucy A.D, Lockwood.
- The inmates are running the asylum [electronic resource] / Alan Cooper.
- The usability engineering lifecycle [electronic resource] : a practioner's handbook for user interface design / Deborah J. Mayhew.
Suggested Subject Headings:
- Affective Interaction
- Critical Approaches to Qualitative Inquiry
- Discrete-Event Modelling and Simulation
- End-User Development
- Experimental Methods and Statistics
- HCI Design and Evaluation
- Interaction Design
- Interactive Entertainment Technologies
- Object Oriented Software Development
- Research methods in HCI
- Software and User Interface Development
Fulltext eBook Collections:
Step #4: Write down or store all the references you have consulted to include them in your bibliography of your research paper (e.g., Mendeley)
- ACM IN-TEXT CITATION STYLE
- Advice on Research and Writing From CMU, primarily for computer scientists
- IEEE Citation Style Guide
- Science and technology research : writing strategies for students / Tina M. Neville, Deborah B. Henry, Bruce D. Neville.
- The craft of editing : a guide for managers, scientists, and engineers / Michael Alley.
- Writing Guidelines for Engineering and Science Students
- Writing Services Get one-on-one help with the entire writing process.
- Annual Reviews Online Authoritative, analytic reviews in 34 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences. They synthesize the vast amount of primary research literature and identify the principal contributions in each field.
- Selected Links to Resources on Writing a Literature Review [internet]