Information Technology

Research Tip Sheet - for systematically searching academic databases (+ video tutorial | 2:25)

ACM Digital Library

  • Journals, conference proceedings, magazines, newsletters, and ebooks from the Association for Computing Machinery

ASME Digital Collection

  • Automotive systems, computers & information in engineering, nanotechnology, and more from the American Society of Mechanical Engineers

EI Engineering Village

  • Applied sciences and engineering

Ergonomics Abstracts

  • Physiology, biomechanics, human-computer interaction, and more

IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) Xplore Digital Library

  • Technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics
  • Video Tutorial | 6:19

Inspec

  • Physics, electrical engineering and electronics, computers and control engineering, and information technology

Scholars Portal Journals

  • Broader coverage of most major academic and scholarly publishers

Scopus

  • Multidisciplinary abstract and citation database for scientific, technical, medical, and social sciences literature

SIAM Journals Online

  • Journals from the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics 

SPIE Digital Library Database

  • Journals, Conference Proceedings, and eBooks focused on optics and photonics from the International Society for Optics and Photonics

SpringerLink

  • Science, technology, health, engineering, and mathematics

Web of Science Core Collection


arXiv.org

  • Open access pre-prints in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science

TechRxiv

  • Open access pre-prints in Technology Research

Ebook Central

  • Computer science/IT, electrical engineering, mathematics, physics

eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)

  • Multi-disciplinary, search by keyword(s)

ENGnetBASE

  • Latest handbooks in civil, mechanical, electrical, industrial, and mining engineering

IOP (Institute of Physics) ebooks

  • Focus on physics, including Medical Physics, Optics and Photonics

ITECHnetBASE

  • Authoritative resources for the study, design, development, implementation, support, and management of computer-based information systems

Knovel Library

  • A collection of science and engineering reference handbooks, databases, and conference proceedings | Video Tutorials

National Academies Press eBooks

  • Reports of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine

O'Reilly

  • Books on technology, digital media, web development, and entrepreneurship, as well as videos, case studies, and learning guides

Oxford Reference Online

  • Click Subject on upper left and select Science and Technology

Scholars Portal Books

  • From major academic publishers

SPIE eBooks

  • Optics, photonics, and imaging engineering eBooks from the International Society for Optics and Photonics

SpringerLink

  • Focused on a broad range of subjects including design and arts, computer science, engineering, mathematics, and physics

Also note that all of Carleton's ebooks can be found through the library's homepage, using the large search box.  Conduct a keyword search, then isolate to Available Online (under Availability) + Books (under Resource Type)

Research on the IT Industry

Non-Carleton Databases

Videos

  • Films on Demand - Click the three bars at the top left to 'View All' Subjects, including Technology & Society

Writing

Open Sources of Data

Library Guides


Patents

Detailed Guide for Patents, Standards, and Trademarks


Theses and Dissertations


Guide for Conducting a Literature Review

Guide for Systematic Reviews and other Knowledge Syntheses

Journals

Books

Content last reviewed: October 21, 2020