International Affairs

This research guide is designed for students doing research in Politics and International Affairs. If you run into any obstacles, don't hesitate to contact me. ~ Aleksandra

Define and get an overview of your topic or  find definitions of key terms and concepts

Country Information

 

Explore your topic

Use search engine on the library home page to search for books, journal articles, media.
Use this search when starting research on a topic or when you are not sure which databases to use.

Fulltext eBook Collections:
Cambridge University Press eBooks
Columbia International Affairs Online
Oxford University Press eBooks
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)
Canadian Publishers Collection
Wiley Online Journals

Key Databases

Additional Databases: 

Government Infomration

Google's Custom Search of Think Tanks
Think Tank Search (Harvard University) – think tanks can give an appreciation of government action or inaction in an area
Think Tanks (library guide)

Economics Search Engine (American Economic Association)

This is a list of suggested journals in the field of International Affairs. Some of these publications are available only in print while others are available online or in print format.

If you know the name of a journal, look it up by its journal title in the catalogue. If you don't know journal names, you can search for journals in the catalogue. Try the subject headings:

Development Studies

Conflict Analysis and Conflict Resolution

Intelligence and Security

Global Political Economy

Asia

North/South America

World/International

Trade

Consult the News Guide for details of news sources.

Tips for searching newspaper databases.

For current Canadian newspapers/news:

For international sources:

The following titles are a small sample of news sources available online through the Library catalogue:

Writing & Citing Guides: 

Citing Print and Electronic Resources

  • Citing Sources From Duke University. This guide provides examples of citations in APA, Chicago, MLA,and Turabian styles for both print and electronic resources.
  • Online! Citing Electronic Resources Provides guidelines for the citation of electronic resources in a variety of styles

How to write a literature review

More Writing & Citing Resources: 

Content last updated: August 19, 2019