There are many excellent online guides to doing a lilterature review. Samples include:
- The Literature Review: A Few Tips on Conducting It - Univeristy of Toronto
- Academic writing: what is a literarure review - Simon Fraser University
- Conducting a Literature Review - Georgetown University Medical Centre
- Learn to Write a Review of Literature - University of Wisconsin - Madison
- Guidelines for Writing a Literature Review - University of Minnesota, Duluth
Once you have your results:
To see only BOOKS click on Book/eBook.
To see only JOURNAL ARTICLES click on Journal Article and click on Scholarly & Peer-Review.
Because there will be many results, it is important to narrow your search.
However, OMNI doesn't search everything that the library owns so you will still need to search other resources such as subject specific databases to find everything that you need.
Use OMNI when starting research on a topic or when you are not sure which databases to use.
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
- Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management - search all volumes or limit to V. 6: International Management
- Dictionary of international business terms
- Dictionary of trade policy terms
- International encyclopedia of business and management
- Key concepts in international business
- Oxford Reference Online: Economics & Business
For books or ebooks on international business, search using OMNI, described above.
Books & Textbooks
Business faculty suggest the following titles as a good starting point. The library does not collect all textbooks; for titles not found, contact the university bookstore instead.
- Wild, John J. International business : the challenges of globalization, 2016
- Basu, Dipak R., Structural revolution in international business architecture
- Marschan-Piekkari, Rebecca, Language in international business : the multilingual reality of global business expansion
- HD62.4 .C85 2008
- International business: new challenges, new forms, new perspectives
- Global business ethics: responsible decision making in an international context
Suggested Subject Headings
- Corporate culture -- Cross-cultural studies
- Management - Cross-cultural studies
- International business enterprises
- International finance
- Business Source Complete
Provides indexing and full-text to scholarly journals, business magazines and trade publications.
- Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database (previously CBCA Complete)
Canadian index to scholarly journals, business news sources and magazines.
- Emerald Management eJournals
Indexes over 100 scholarly journals on all streams of business.
- EconLit with Full Text
- PAIS Index (previously PAIS International)
- Web of Science Core Collection
Cited Reference Searching
Grey Literarture, Policy Reports, Think Tanks
Consult the library guide Searching for Grey Literature for sources and searching tips. Good databases for grey literature include:
- Business Source Complete (select publication type "Grey literature", also search market reports and company information)
- Dissertations and Theses Global
- IEEE Xplore Digital Library (narrow down to "conference publications")
- CURVE (Carleton University Repository Virtual Environment)
- Government Information
- WorldCat (covers resources outside of Carleton's collection)
Policy Reports and Working Papers
- NBER (National Bureau of Economics Research) Working Papers)
- PolicyFile Index (U.S. Policy) Provides access to U.S. foreign and domestic policy papers and gray literature.
Think tanks are independent, nonpartisan, public policy research institutes that are often non-profit such as the American Enterprise Institute, Brookings Institute, etc. They conduct research and analysis on current issues and topics. The Harvard Kennedy School provides a searchable database of over 600 listings. See Think Tanks page.
Dissertations & Theses
- Dissertations and Theses Global
- Dissertations and Theses@Carleton (a subset of the full Dissertations and Theses database)
- EThOS The UK’s national thesis service, provides a record of all doctoral dissertations with a growing number of them in full-text
- Theses Canada / Thèses Canada
- Foreign Doctoral Dissertations
View the full list of our theses and dissertations databases.
- Enterprise Surveys
- CIA World Factbook
- World Competitiveness Online
- World Development Indicators
- Human Development Report
- Cambridge handbook of culture, organizations, and work
- Country Insights (Canada Foreign Affairs and International Trade)
- globalEdge - to to Global Insights, select Country and choose Culture from the left hand side menu.
- Negotiating Behavior (U.S. Institute of Peace)
- Bloomberg News
- Continuum Economics News Monitor service provides access to articles and reports on global economic issues.
- Canadian Business & Current Affairs Provides full text to Canadian business journals and magazines.
- Factiva (Globe and Mail and the Wall Street Journal live here)
- PressReader PDFs to more than 2300 newspapers from 97 countries in over 55 languages.
- Wire Report The leading news service covering Canada's rapidly converging telecom and media sectors.
- Journalist's resource: research on today's news topics
The following titles are available online through the Library: