Welcome to the Subject Guide for Islamic Studies at Carleton University Library. Use dictionaries and encyclopedias to get an overview and background information. Also listed below are specialized reference resources useful when first exploring a topic. Look in the section Finding Books and eBooks to find Sacred Texts.
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Encyclopædia of Islam / H.A.R. Gibb (1960-) DS37.E523
Encyclopedia of Islamic civilisation and religion / Ian Richard Netton (2009) BP40.E526 2009
Encyclopædia of the Qur'ān / Jane Dammen McAuliffe (2001) BP133.E53 2001 (vols. 1-6)
Encyclopedia of Women and Islamic Cultures / Suad joseph (2006)
Encyclopedia Iranica / Ehsan Yarshater (1996-)
Encyclopedia of Global Religion / Mark Juergensmeyer, Wade Clark Roof (2012)
Columbia World Dictionary of Islamism / Olivier Roy et. al. (2007) BP40.D5313 2007
Oxford Dictionary of Islam / John L. Esposito (2003)
Lane's Arabic-English Lexicon: Free, online & downloadable dictionary.
The Cambridge History of Egypt / Cambridge University Press (1998) DT94..C36 (vols. 1-2)
The Cambridge History of Iran / Cambridge University Press (1991) DS272.C34 (vols. 1-7)
The Cambridge History of Islam / P.M. Holt, et. al. (1977) DS35.6.C3 1977 (vols. 1a-2b)
Islam : background and bibliography / Claire Woodward (2002) BP161.3 BIBL.W66 2002
The Muslim diaspora : a comprehensive reference to the spread of Islam in Asia, Africa, Europe, and the Americas / Everett Jenkins BP50.J46 (vols. 1-2).
Ismaili literature : a bibliography of sources and studies /Farhad Daftary (2004) BP195.I8 D32 2004
Arab and Muslim Americans of Middle Eastern origin : social and political aspects : a bibliography / Joan Nordquist (2003) E184.A65.N67 2003
Islam : background and bibliography / Claire Woodward (2002) BP161.3.BiBL.W66 2002
The Islamic revival since 1988 : a critical survey and bibliography / Yvonne yazbeck Haddad (1997) STF BP60 BIBL.H33
Concise biographical companion to Index Islamicus : an international who's who in Islamic studies from its beginnings down to the twentieth century / Wolfgang Behn (2004-) BP70.B425 2004 (vols. 1-3)
The biographical encyclopedia of Islamic philosophy / Oliver Leaman (2006) B741.B56 2006 (vols. 1-2)
Great thinkers of the Eastern world : the major thinkers and the philosophical and religious classics of China, India, Japan, Korea, and the world of Islam / ian P. McGreal (1995) STF B5005.G74
Historical dictionary of prophets in Islam and Judaism / Scott B. Noegel, Brannon M. Wheeler (2002) BM645.P67.N64 2002
Muhammad; encyclopaedia of Seerah / Afzal-ur-Rahman (1981) BP75.A258 (vols. 1-8)
Art and Architecture
A bibliography of the architecture, arts, and crafts of Islam / K.A.C. Creswell (1973) NA380.C7 1961
Dictionary of Islamic architecture / Andrew Petersen (1996)
Grove encyclopedia of Islamic art and architecture / Jonathan M. Bloom and Sheila S. Blair (2009) N6260.G75 2009 (vols. 1-3).
Books of definition in Islamic philosophy / Kiki Kennedy-Day (2003)
A dictionary of Muslim philosophy / M. Saeed Sheikh (1970) B741.S48
Islamic philosophy A-Z / Peter S. Groff with Oliver Leaman (2007) B741.G76 2007
The Atlas of Religon / Joanne O'Brien and Martin Palmer (2007) MPA G1046.E4.O27 2007
Cultural atlas of Islam / Ismaʼīl R. al Fārūqī and Lois Lamyāʼ al Fārūq (1986) MPA G1786.E44.A39 1986
An Historical Atlas of Islam / William Charles Brice (1981) MPA G1786.S1.B75 1981
Historical atlas of the Islamic world /David Nicolle (2003) MPA G1786.S1.N5 2003
Women and Islam
Encyclopedia of women and religion in North America / Rosemary Skinner Keller, et. al. (2006) BL458.E527 2006 (vols. 1-3)
Encyclopedia of women and Islamic cultures / Suad Joseph (2006-)
Women and education in Iran and Afghanistan : an annotated bibliography of sources in English, 1975-2003 / Mitra K. Shavarini, Wendy R. Robison (2005)
Muslim women throughout the world; a bibliography / Michelle Kimball (1997) HQ1170 BIBL.K55
Use Keyword or the dropdown Subject Terms search to find books by a topic. To search multiple words not as a phrase do a Keyword search and use Boolean Operations -
AND to find all of the words in any order
OR to find any of the words
AND NOT to exclude one or more words
(islam* OR muslim) AND (art OR architect*)
The * symbol will find any ending up to 5 characters. Canad* will retrieve Canada, Canadian, Canadians, etc
A full list of search tips is available at the Keyword Searching page.
Seach by Title in Omni under Koran. Language
(Until updating is complete, search under both spellings of Koran and Qur'an)
for example: Koran. English
Koran. Arabic & English
Editions of the Qur'an can be found in the book collection in the BP100 - 109 range.
A online copy is available through eBooks on EBSCOhost: The holy Qur'an / translated by M.H. Shakir
Search for related materials by Subject:
Qur'an or Koran
Qur'an -- Commentaries.
Qur'an - Concordances
A concordance of the Qur'an
Qur'an - Criticism, interpretation, etc.
The Qur'an: an introduction
Qur'an - Dictionaries
Dictionary of Qur'anic terms and concepts
Encyclopedia of the Qur'an
Relevant eBook Collections:
Canadian Publishers Collection
Columbia International Affairs Online
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)
Eighteenth Century Collections Online
Making of America
Ebook Central includes ebooks from Cambridge University Press, Oxford University Press and Taylor & Francis
Oxford Scholarship online: Religion
Springer ebooks (via SpringerLink)
All e-book collections.
- Année Philologique
- America History and Life
- Columbia International Affairs Online
- Historical Abstracts
- International Medieval Bibliography
- ARTstor Includes approximately 500,000 images covering art, architecture and archeology
- Biblical Archaeology Society Online
The list below is a sampling of titles held by the Library. If the journal you are looking for is not listed below, do a title search in Omni. If we do not subscribe to it, order the article using Interlibrary Loans.
Arabic and Middle Eastern literatures
Arabic Sciences and Philosophy
British Journal of Middle Eastern Studies
Edebiyât: Journal of ME Literatures
International Journal of Middle East Studies
Islamic law and society
Journal of Arabic and Islamic Studies
Journal of Arabic Literature
Journal of Islamic studies
Journal of Palestine Studies
MERIP-Middle East Report
Middle East Journal
Middle East Policy
Middle East Report
Middle Eastern Studies
- 2001 Census information on religion (archived content)
- Canadian Census Analyzer
- Statistics Canada library online - Historical statistics
- Diaspora by design : Muslims in Canada and beyond / Haideh Moghissi et. al. (2009) FC106.M88 M64 2009
- The Columbia sourcebook of Muslims in the United States / Edward E. Curtis IV (2008) E184.M88.C65 2008
- The world's religions in figures : an introduction to international religious demography / Todd M. Johnson et. al. (2013) BL80.3.J65 2013
- South & Southeast Asian Studies
- Islam and Islamic Studies Resources University of Georgia Professor, Alan Godlas, provides one of the most comprehensive and scholarly sites on Islam.
- Center for Islam and Science Dedicated to the promotion of research and diffusion of knowledge on all aspects of Islam and science. It encourages a creative exploration of the Islamic worldview of science, fusion of contemporary scholarship with the traditional sources of Islamic thought and a renewed link with the intellectual tradition of Islam.
- The Ismaili Official website of the Ismaili Muslim community.
- Al Misbah - Database of Online Resources
- Altafsir.com - Online collection of Qur’anic Commentary (tafsir or tafseer), translation and recitation.
- Arabic Newspapers
- Islamic Multimedia
- Institute of Ismaili Studies
- Institute of Islamic Studies (University of Toronto)
- MENALIB (State- & University Library Saxony-Anhalt, Halle (Germany))
- Royal Aalal-Bayt Institute for Islamci Thought
- Virtual Religion Index - Islamic Studies