Jewish Studies

Welcome to the Subject Guide for Jewish Studies at Carleton University Library.   Use dictionaries and encyclopedias to get an overview and background information.  Also listed below are specialized reference resources useful when first exploring a topic.  Look in the section Finding Books and eBooks to find Sacred Texts.  

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Dictionary of Targumim, Talmud and Midrashic Literature
Blackwell companion to Jewish culture : from the eighteenth century to the present
Dictionary of Jewish usage : a guide to the use of Jewish terms / Sol Steinmetz (2005) BM50.S74 2005
Encyclopaedia Judaica / Fred Skolnik (2007)
Encyclopaedia of Judaism / Jacob Neusner, et. al. (2005) BM50.E63 2005 (vols. 1-4)
Encyclopedia of the Holocaust / Israel Gutman (1990) D804.3.E53 (vols. 1-4)
Encyclopedia talmudica / Shlomo Josef Zevin, et. al. (1969-) BM500.5.E613 (vols. 1-3)
Encyclopedia of the Dead Sea scrolls / Lawrence H. Schiffman, James C. VanderKam (2000) BM487.E53 2000 (vols. 1-2)
Harduf's transliterated English-Hebrew dictionary / David Mendel Harduf (1994-) PJ4833.H27 (vols. 1-18)
Historical dictionary of Judaism / Norman Solomon (2015)
Historical dictionary of the holocaust / Jack R. Fischel (1999) D804.25.F57
New Encyclopedia of Zionism and Israel / Geoffrey Wigoder (1994) DS149.N56 (vols. 1-2)
Reader's guide to Judaism / Michael Terry (2013)
Theological dictionary of rabbinic Judaism / Jacob Neusner (2005) BM602.N487 2005 (vols. 1-3)

Historical Studies
The Cambridge guide to Jewish history, religion, and culture / Judith R. Baskin, Kenneth Seeskin (2010) BM155.3.C25 2010
Cambridge history of Judaism / Louis W. D. Davies, Louis Finkelstein (1984-) BM155.2.C35 (vols. 1-4)

Bibliographies
Antisemitism : an annotated bibliography / Susan Sarah Cohen (DS145 BIBL .A57 (vols. 1-3)
Bibliography on Holocaust Literature 1986 edition and 1990 edition
A critical bibliography of writings on Judaism / David B. Griffiths (1988) BM155.2 BIBL .G7
The Dead Sea scrolls : major publications and tools for study / Joseph A. Fitzmyer (1990) BM487 BIBL .F58 1990
Index of articles relative to Jewish history and literature published in periodicals, from 1665 to 1900 / Moise Schwab (1971) STF DS102.8 BIBL .S35 1971

Biography
The dictionary of Jewish biography / Dan Cohn-Sherbok (2005) DS115.C57 2005
Encyclopedia of women and religion in North America / Rosemary Skinner Keller, et. al. (2006) BL458.E527 2006 (vols. 1-3)
Historical dictionary of prophets in Islam and Judaism / Scott B. Noegel, Brannon M. Wheeler (2002) BM645.P67.N64 2002
Jewish women in America : an historical encyclopedia / Paula E. Hyman, Deborah Dash Moore (1998) DS115.2.J49 1998 (vols. 1-2)
Jewish writers of Latin America : a dictionary / Darrell B. Lockhart (1997) PQ7081.3.J49
Jewish writers of North America : a guide to information sources / Ira Bruce nadel (1981) STF PS153.J4.N33 1981
Jewish Women: a comprehensive historical encyclopedia
Who's who in Jewish history : after the period of the Old Testament / Joan Comay (2002)

Music
The resource book of Jewish music  / Irene Heske (1985) STF ML128.J4H48
Bibliography of Jewish music / Alfred Sendrey (1969) STF ML128.J4S5 1969

Atlases
The Routledge atlas of Jewish history / Martin Gilbert (2010) MPA G1030.G45 2010
The Routledge atlas of the Holocaust / Martin Gilbert (2009) MPA G1797.21.E29 G483 2009
The historical atlas of Judaism /Ian Barnes, Josephine Bacon (2009) MPA G1046.E43.B37 2009

Women and Judaism
The Jewish woman : an annotated selected bibliography, 1986-1993 : with 1994-1995 recent titles list / Ann S. Masnik (1996) HQ1172 BIBL .C35 1987 SUP
Women and Judaism : a select annotated bibliography / Inger Marie Ruud (1988) BM729.W6 BIBL R88
The Jewish woman, 1900-1985 : a bibliography / Aviva Cantor (1987) HQ1172 BIBL .C35 1987
 

Use Keyword or Subject searching to find books by a topic.   To search multiple words not as a phrase do a Keyword search and use Boolean Operations - 
         AND to find all of the words in any order
         OR to find any of the words
         AND NOT to exclude one or more words

For example
       religion and culture and canad*

The * symbol will find any ending up to 5 characters.  Canad* will retreive Canada, Canadian, Canadians, etc

A full list of search tips is available at the Keyword and Advanced Keyword Searching page.

Judaic Texts
Below is an guide to the core texts of Jewish religious writing. Search tips for Carleton Discovery - Primo VE are provided as well as examples of titles available in the collection.

A good starting point:
Back to the sources : reading the classic Jewish texts / Barry W. Holtz (1984) BM496.5.B33

     Online texts:
     Internet Sacred Text Archive: Judaism A free archive of online texts

     Sefaria: a Living Library of Jewish Texts - A free living library of Jewish texts, in Hebrew and in translation

Hebrew Bible (Tanakh)
     Search by title in Carleton Discovery - Primo VE under Bible. O.T. Hebrew
      Tanach : the Torah/Prophets/Writings: the twenty-four books of the Bible, newly translated and annotated / Nosson Scherman, et. al. (1996) BS715 1996
      Tanackh Mikra'ot Gedolot BS715 1959
      The Jewish Study Bible / Adele Berlin, et. al. (2004) BS895.J4 2014

     Online texts:
      JPS Bible
      A Hebrew - English Bible

Torah - Pentateuch - Five Books of Moses
    Search by title in Carleton Discovery - Primo VE under Bible. O.T. Pentateuch. English
     The Torah : with an interpolated English translation and commentary based on the works of the Lubavitcher Rebbe Rabbi Menachem M. Schneerson (2004-)
     BS1222 2004
     Torah : The Torah : a modern commentary / W. Gunther Plaut, David E. Stein (2005) BS1225.53.T67 2005

     Online texts:
       The Pentateuch / William Tyndale

Talmud - Rabbinic Literature, Oral Law

   Search by subject in Carleton Discovery - Primo VE under Talmud; Mishnah
     The Babylonian Talmud / I. Epstein (1961) BM499.5.E57 1961
      Mishnayot (1972) BM497 1972 (vols. 1-12)
     Talmudic encyclopedia 2nd. edition BM500.5.E6 1973 (vols. 1-14)
     The Talmud : law, theology, narrative : a sourcebook / Jacob Neusner (2005) BM499.5.E42.N48 2005

     Online texts:    
 
     The People's Talmud - A new repository of the Talmud. The website is accessible without charge, but more advanced features require an
      annual subscription fee

Commentaries, Interpretations, etc
      Use Carleton Discovery - Primo VE's Subject search
     Rabbinical Literature -- History And Criticism
     Talmud -- Criticism, interpretation, etc.

     Or do a keyword search
      Jewish law and history

E-book titles avaiabable at Carleton are in Carleton Discovery - Primo VE and will be retrieved by a Author, Title, Subject, Keyword search.  Or you may browe our e-book collections.

Relevant eBook Collections:
Brill
Canadian Publishers Collection
Columbia International Affairs Online
Eighteenth Century Collections Online
Making of America
Ebook Central includes ebooks from Cambridge University Press, Oxford University Press and Taylor & Francis eBooks
Oxford Scholarship online: Religion
Patrologia Latina
Springer ebooks (via SpringerLink)

See all ebook collections.

Key Databases

Additional Databases

The list below is a sampling of titles held by the Library.  If the journal you are looking for is not listed below, do a title search in Carleton Discovery - Primo VE. If we do not subscribe to it, order the article using Interlibrary Loans.

British Journal of Middle Eastern Studies
International Journal of Middle East Studies (DS41 .I55)
The Jewish quarterly review DS101.J5
Jewish social studies DS101 .J555
Journal of modern Jewish studies 
MERIP-Middle East Report (DS42 .M46)
Middle East Journal (DS1 .M5)
Middle East Policy
Middle East Report (DS42 .M46)
Middle Eastern Studies (DS41 .M55)
Modern judaism
 

Canadian Statistical Sources

Content last updated: September 16, 2019