Millennium Development Goals

The Millennium Development Goals (MDGs) implemented in September 2000 were a set of eight goals developed by the United Nations, with the hope of reversing these problems by the year 2015.

The eight goals are:

  1. Eradicate extreme poverty and hunger
  2. Achieve universal primary education
  3. Promote gender equality and empower women
  4. Reduce child mortality
  5. Improve maternal health
  6. Combat HIV/AIDS, malaria and other diseases
  7. Ensure environmental sustainability
  8. Develop a global partnership for development

The main website offers the expanded goals with their targets, more background, reports, facts and figures.  Some of the partner websites are:






Canada - Federal:


United Kingdom

United States

As well, each individual country would have it's own coverage of Millennium Development Goals.





The World Bank eAtlas of the Millennium Development Goals lets you visualize and map the indicators that measure progress toward the Goals, with clear explanations of each Goal and its related Targets as the context. When you select an indicator, the eAtlas creates a world map keyed to that indicator, with country rankings and data in your choice of tables or graphs. You can pan or zoom to view different countries or regions, view the dynamic change in that map with a time series, compare two maps and sets of data, and do much more.

Safe Drinking Water: a Millennium Development Goal (WHO, UN) 


Content last updated: February 28, 2020