- Web of Science: A large multidisciplinary database useful for finding scientific literature and analyzing citations.
- Scopus: A large multidisciplinary database useful for finding scientific literature and analyzing citations.
- Google Scholar: A broad search for academic sources, which can include free sources not available in other databases.
- Inspec: Journal articles, conference papers, books, and reports in physics, as well as engineering, electronics, and computer science.
- arXiv: An open access (free) archive for physics, mathematics, computer science, and more. Note that this is a preprint server, so many articles are uploaded before peer review or publishing.
- INSPIRE-HEP: A key search engine for high energy physics literature.
- Astrophysics Data System: Abstracts in astronomy and physics, provided by NASA’s Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory.
- PubMed: A database from the US National Center for Biotechnology Information, useful when researching topics in medical physics.
- IEEE Xplore: Journals, conference proceedings, and standards in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics.
Theses and Dissertations
- CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics: The authoritative reference handbook for chemical and physical property information.
- A Dictionary of Physics
- Springer handbook of atomic, molecular, and optical physics
- Encyclopedia of chemical physics and physical chemistry
- Encyclopedia of mathematical physics
Tables and Data
- International Critical Tables of Numerical Data, Physics, Chemistry and Technology: Tables of data on physical, thermodynamic, mechanical, and other key properties.
- Smithsonian physical tables: 901 tables of full-text searchable common physical and chemical data.
- Physical Reference Data: Openly available data from the National Institute of Standards and Technology
Print physics books are located on the shelf in the call number range QC1-QC999, while astronomy books can be found from QB1-QB991. Check the New Titles list to see recently added print and e-books.
Search for print and e-books in the Library Catalogue, or browse a relevant subject heading:
- Nuclear Physics
- Medical Physics
- Particles (Nuclear Physics)
- Quantum Theory
- Quantum Field Theory
General e-book Collections
- Springer eBooks
- ebrary e-books
- Google Books
- Knovel: A collection of science and engineering books.
- CRCnetBASE: CRC books on engineering and information systems.
- Mechanical Calculators: A calculator for almost every purpose.
- Feynman Lectures Online
- Medical Physics Resource Page: Useful links for those interested in medical physics.
- Particle Adventure: A tutorial from CPEP.
- American Institute of Physics
- Institute of Physics
- American Physical Society
- Canadian Association of Physicists
- CERN (European Organization for Nuclear Research)
- Canadian College of Physicists in Medicine
- American Association of Physicists in Medicine
- Society of Physics Students
- Royal Astronomical Society of Canada