This guide introduces you to library resources for doing research in political science.

Reference Materials: 

Define and get an overview of your topic or find definitions of key terms and concepts

Additional resources

Political Cartoons

Explore your topic

Introducing Summon - which makes it possible to search across many of the library's collections simultaneously. Including books, ebooks, journal titles, games, music, videos, government information, maps, and more.

However,  Summon doesn't search everything that the library owns or subscribes to so you will still need to search other resources to find everything that you need. Summon also doesn't let you do sophisticated searches that you may be used to doing in specific databases or the library catalogue.  

When to use Summon

  • When starting research on a topic
  • If you are not sure which databases to use

For assistance using Summon please contact the Research Help Desk.

Use keywords to find books, government and other documents as well as films in the library’s catalogue.

For all relevant titles, click on the subject headings to continue your search.

Suggested Subject Headings:
Hobbes, Thomas, 1588-1679
Elections
Canada. Parliament
Liberalism
European Union
Trudeau, Pierre Elliott, 1919-2000.

Fulltext eBook Collections: 

Cambridge University Press eBooks
Columbia International Affairs Online
Oxford University Press eBooks
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)
Canadian Publishers Collection
Wiley Online Journals

Key Databases

Additional Databases: 

Government Infomration
MADGIC Maps, Data and Government Information Centre, Carleton University Library
Government of Canada

Select Journals: 

This is a list of suggested journals in the field of Political Science. Some of these publications are available only in print while others are available online or in print and electronic format.

Useful websites

Area Studies:
Africa:

Asia:

Europe:

Latin America:

Middle East:

Archives: 

Primary Sources: 

Government documents available via Carleton University Library

Consult the News Guide for details of news sources.

Tips for searching newspaper databases.
For current Canadian newspapers/news:

For historical Canadian & other newspapers:

For international sources:

Writing & Citing Guides: 

Citation Management (workshops offered at the Library)

More Writing & Citing Resources: 

Citing Government Information

Citing Print and Electronic Resources

  • Citing Sources From Duke University. This guide provides examples of citations in APA, Chicago, MLA,and Turabian styles for both print and electronic resources.
  • Online! Citing Electronic Resources Provides guidelines for the citation of electronic resources in a variety of styles

How to write a literature review