Population and Migration Studies

Changes to Library services during the COVID-19 lockdown.

This guide provides links to sources of information and is meant as a starting point for those interested in population, migration/immigration and settlement issues.

To find books or journal articles, you have several options:

1. Use the library's main search box

  • type in the keywords of your topic
  • this discovery tool searches most of the library's databases, simultaneously, for all types of material, ie: journal articles, book reviews, books/e-books, newspapers, magazines,videos, reports, etc.
  • each search can return many results (much like Google), so you must use the filters to refine your search results
  • use the Advanced Search and narrow by Subject terms (controlled vocabulary)
  • remember to login first if you are searching from 'off campus'

2.  Search specialized databases

  • these databases are focused on various areas of historical research and contain citations or full text links to journal articles, books, conference proceedings, reports, and dissertations
  • databases for Canadian Studies have significant Canadian content
  • you will find more precise articles with fewer results to browse

Recommended databases:

Data databases:

Note: If the library does not have what you need, you can order books, journal articles, etc. from other libraries through RACER but you need to register before you can start using it.

 

Key Books

  • Internal Migration in the Developed World, HB1952.I48 2018, Floor 4
  • Labour's Immigration Policy; the making of the migration state, JV7633.C66 2018, Floor 4
  • High skilled migration to the United States and its economic consequences, HD8081.A5H54 2018, Floor 4
  • Population and Vital Statistics Report (UN)

Key Videos

Key Government web sites

Canada:

United States:

International:

Social Scientists most often use APA citation style:

Referencing your sources is an important part of academic writing. Why?

  • it lets you acknowledge the ideas or words of others if you use them in your work
  • it helps you to avoid plagiarism
  • it demonstrates that you are using the scholarly record and that you can provide authority for statements you make in your term paper
  • it enables readers to find the source information

Alternate Citation Guides:

Writing Guides:

Content last updated: June 2, 2020