This subject guide will assist you in finding books, journal articles, and websites, as well as assist you in developing your research skills.
Step #1: Get background information from handbooks, encyclopedias, dictionaries.
- Begin by defining exactly what you are searching for
- Select the keywords/synonyms in your topic
- Be specific when determining keywords/synonyms and terms to search
- Use the advanced interface of electronic databases and Internet search engines to help narrow your search
- Limit results in electronic databases to full-text or peer reviewed journals only
- Use Boolean Operators to connect search terms
- Take notes during your research to keep track of where you have been, keywords searched, what worked and what didn't, etc.
- Google search secrets [electronic resource] / Christa Burns and Michael P. Sauers.
Sources of Information
- Publication Cycle: to find primary and secondary sources of information, use tertiary sources of information: dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks. When a researcher publishes material, they follow the cycle clockwise. To find primary and secondary sources, follow the cycle anti clockwise.
- Selected Biographical Dictionaries
- Biographical dictionary of social and cultural anthropology
- Cultural theory: the key thinkers [electronic resource]
- Fifty key anthropologists [electronic resource]
- Fifty key sociologists: the contemporary theorists [electronic resource]
- Mappers of society : the lives, times, and legacies of great sociologists
- Sociologists in a global age : biographical perspectives
- Women in anthropology autobiographical narratives and social history [electronic resource]
- Women in sociology: a bio-bibliographical sourcebook
- Anti-capitalist dictionary : movements, histories & motivations [electronic resource]
- A dictionary of geography [electronic resource]
- Dictionary of Marxist thought
- A dictionary of sociology [electronic resource]
- Key quotations in sociology [electronic resource]
- The Max Weber dictionary: key words and central concepts [electronic resource]
- Oxford Reference Online Premium [electronic resource]
- Sage dictionary of cultural studies
- Sage dictionary of sociology [electronic resource]
- Blackwell encyclopedia of sociology [electronic resource]
- Encyclopedia of aging [electronic resource]
- Encyclopedia of American social movements. Volume one-four [electronic resource]
- Encyclopedia of disability [electronic resource]
- Encyclopedia of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender history in America [electronic resource]
- Encyclopedia of modern American extremists and extremist groups [electronic resource]
- Encyclopedia of motherhood [electronic resource]
- Encyclopedia of postmodernism [electronic resource]
- Encyclopedia of social measurement [electronic resource]
- Encyclopedia of Social Movement Media
- Encyclopedia of social theory [electronic resource]
- Encyclopedia of urban cultures : cities and cultures around the world [electronic resource]
- Encyclopedia of women and gender sex similarities and differences and the impact of society on gender
- Encyclopedia of world cultures: supplement [electronic resource]
- Gale Virtual Reference Library [electronic resource]
- Global encyclopedia of lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer (LGBTQ) history [electronic resource]
- International encyclopedia of men and masculinities [electronic resource]
- International encyclopedia of the social and behavioral sciences [electronic resource]
- Oxford Reference Online: Premium [electronic resource]
- Propaganda and mass persuasion: A historical encyclopedia, 1500 to the present
- Sage deaf studies encyclopedia [electronic resource]
- Sage encyclopedia of qualitative research methods [electronic resource]
- Sage encyclopedia of social science research methods [electronic resource]
- SAGE Knowledge Encyclopedias [electronic resource]
- Theory in social and cultural anthropology: an encyclopedia [electronic resource]
- 21st century sociology: a reference handbook [electronic resource]
- A handbook for social science field research essays & bibliographic sources on research design and methods [electronic resource]
- The handbook of ethical research with ethnocultural populations and communities [electronic resource]
- Handbook of minority aging [electronic resource]
- Handbook of methodological approaches to community-based research : qualitative, quantitative, and mixed [electronic resource]
- The handbook of political sociology states, civil societies, and globalization [electronic resource]
- Handbook of social movements across disciplines [electronic resources]
- Handbook of social research ethics [electronic resource]
- Handbook of the sociology of gender [electronic resource]
- Handbook of the sociology of racial and ethnic relations [electronic resource]
- Handbook of the sociology of religion [electronic resource]
- Handbook of the Sociology of Sexualities [electronic resource]
- The international handbook of environmental sociology [electronic resource]
- Mixed methods research: merging theory with practice [electronic resource]
- Oxford handbook of multimethod and mixed methods research inquiry [electronic resource]
- Routledge handbook of sexuality, health and rights [electronic resource]
- Routledge International Handbook of Migration Studies [electronic resource]
- The Routledge international handbook of the sociology of education [electronic resource]
- SAGE handbook of applied social research methods [electronic resource]
- SAGE handbook of fieldwork [electronic resource]
- SAGE handbook of online research methods [electronic resource]
- SAGE handbook of social gerontology
- SAGE handbook of social research methods [electronic resource]
- The SAGE Handbook of Visual Research Methods (Second Edition (Revised and Updated Edition)) [electronic resource]
- Studying society: the essentials [electronic resource]
- Sustainable development handbook [electronic resource]
- Thinking globally : a global studies reader [electronic resource]
Step #2: Once your topic is narrowly defined, select databases to find specific articles that have been published in journals.
- Academic OneFile
- Annual Reviews
- Canadian Business & Current Affairs
- ERIC PEER REVIEWED
- Google Scholar
- ICPSR : Inter-University Consortium for Political & Social Research (Archives of social science data for research and instruction)
- Proquest Sociology collection provides access to Sociological Abstracts in combination with other databases covering the international literature in sociology and social services
- Qualitative Data Repository (QDR’s overarching goals are to make sharing qualitative data customary in the social sciences, to broaden access to social science data, and to strengthen qualitative and multi-method research)
- SAGE Research Methods
- Sociological Abstracts PEER REVIEWED
- Web of Science Core Collection (choose the Social Sciences Citation Index)
- Ebsco databases: Databases available through the EBSCOhost interface. Multiple databases can be selected and searched simultaneously. Click on EBSCOhost Web.
- JSTOR: Digital library of academic journals, books and primary sources.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online: a tool for the social sciences and humanities
Multidisciplinary databases with Canadian content:
- America History and Life and Historical Abstracts (North American and non-North-American history, respectively) PEER REVIEWED
- Child Development & Adolescent Studies (child studies)
- CINAHL (health sciences)
- Criminal Justice Abstracts (criminology) PEER REVIEWED
- ERIC (education) PEER REVIEWED
- Gender & Work Database (sociology of work)
- Gender Studies Database (gender studies)
- Population Index (demography) PEER REVIEWED
- World Agricultural Economics and Rural Sociology Abstracts (rural sociology) PEER REVIEWED
For Canadian social issues:
- Directory of Open Access Journals: An index to high quality, peer reviewed open access research journals, periodicals and their articles' metadata. Each journal must exercise peer-review with an editor and an editorial board or editorial review (particularly in the Humanities) carried out by at least two editors and/or report primary results of research or overviews of research results to a scholarly community
- Google Scholar Metrics: Gender Studies
- Google Scholar Metrics: Sex & Sexuality
- Journal Citation Reports (JCR) from Web of Science: Provides access to citation data in order to aid the evaluation and comparison of scholarly journals
- Scimago Journal & Country rank - Gender Studies
- Ulrichsweb: is a source of bibliographic and access information for over 300,000 serials
- AGRICULTURE AND HUMAN VALUES [electronic resource]
- AMERICAN JOURNAL OF SOCIOLOGY [electronic resource] PEER REVIEWED
- AMERICAN SOCIOLOGICAL REVIEW [electronic resource] PEER REVIEWED
- Annals of tourism research. [electronic resource] PEER REVIEWED
- Annual review of gerontology & geriatrics. [electronic resource]
- Annual Review of Sociology [electronic resource] PEER REVIEWED
- BRITISH JOURNAL OF SOCIOLOGY [electronic resource] PEER REVIEWED
- Information Communication & Society [electronic resource] PEER REVIEWED
- Qualitative research : QR. [electronic resource]
- Socio-Economic Review [electronic resource]
- SOCIOLOGY OF EDUCATION [electronic resource] PEER REVIEWED
Step #3: non-literary forms of representation in sociology
Maps and images
- ArtStor Digital Library: provides access to 2.5+ million images of the world’s cultural heritage, all rights-cleared for use in education.
- Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection -- Historical Maps -- Hosted by the University of Texas at Austin.
- Films in the Library
- Watmedia: please fill out our Interfilm Video Request form -- do not submit requests directly to Watmedia.
For more go to our listing of images databases.
Also consult our images "find" guide.
Step #4: Find books on your topic to gain greater depth and understanding.
Books and Serials in Sociology are shelved at these locations in the Library of Congress system: HM1-1281
We welcome your suggestions for books or other library materials you need for your study or research at Carleton.
Google Books >Sociology
Suggested Subject Headings
- Sociology -- African Studies
- Sociology -- Culture
- Sociology -- Deviant behavior. Social deviance
- Sociology -- Digital Humanities
- Sociology -- Groups and organizations
- Sociology -- History of sociology. History of sociological theory
- Sociology -- Political Economy
- Sociology -- Quantitative Methodology
- Sociology -- Social change
- Sociology -- Social control
- Sociology -- Social institutions
- Sociology -- Social Justice
- Sociology -- Social psychology
- Sociology -- Social systems
- Sociology -- Social structure
- Sociology -- Theory. Method. Relations to other subjects
- Start with Sage Research Methods, a comprehensive database of resources on research methods in the social sciences which includes:
- Burke Johnson Discusses Mixed Methods
- An Introduction to Interviews and Focus Groups
- Real research : research methods sociology students can use / Liahna Gordon, California State University, Chico.
- Research design: quantitative, qualitative, mixed methods, arts-based, and community-based participatory research approaches / Patricia Leavy. [electronic resource]
- The research experience : planning, conducting, and reporting research / Ann Sloan Devlin Connecticut College.
- Visual methods in social research / Marcus Banks & David Zeitlyn. [electronic resource]
- Ethics for graduate researchers : a cross-disciplinary approach / edited by Cathriona Russell, Linda Hogan, and Maureen Junker-Kenny.
- Research Ethics
- Research ethics: a philosophical guide to the responsible conduct of research / Gary Comstock. [electronic resource]
- The student's guide to research ethics / Paul Oliver. [electronic resource]
- Data mining for the social sciences : an introduction / Paul Attewell and David B. Monaghan with Darren Kwong. [electronic resource]
- An introduction to Descriptive & Inferential Statistics
- More statistical and methodological myths and urban legends / edited by Charles E. Lance, Robert J. Vandenberg.
- Practical Statistics: A Quick and Easy Guide to IBM® SPSS® Statistics, STATA, and Other Statistical Software [electronic resource]
- Social statistics for a diverse society / Chava Frankfort-Nachmias, University of Wisconsin, Anna Leon-Guerrero, Pacific Lutheran University.
- Statistics : a tool for social research / Joseph F. Healey (Christopher Newport University), Steven G. Prus (Carleton University) [electronic resource]
Step #5: Write down or store all the references you have consulted to include them in your bibliography of your research paper (e.g., Mendeley)
Selected resources to get started:
- The anthropology of writing understanding textually-mediated worlds [electronic resource]
- Communicating social science research to policymakers [electronic resource]
- The craft of research / Wayne C. Booth, Gregory G. Colomb, Joseph M. Williams, Joseph Bizup, William T. FitzGerald. [electronic resource]
- The cultural context in business communication [electronic resource]
- Doing honest work in college : how to prepare citations, avoid plagiarism, and achieve real academic success / Charles Lipson. [electronic resource]
- A guide to writing sociology papers / The Sociology Writing Group.
- Presenting data how to communicate your message effectively [electronic resource]
- Readability: text and context [electronic resource]
- The Routledge Handbook of Discourse Analysis [electronic resource]
- Social sciences research : research, writing, and presentation strategies for students / Gail M. Staines, Katherine Johnson, Mark Bonacci. [electronic resource]
- The sociology student writer's manual / William A. Johnson, Richard P. Rettig, Gregory M. Scott, Stephen M. Garrison. [electronic resource]
- Style guide / American Sociological Association [print and online]
- Style Guide for the Preparation of Essays (Carleton University Department of Sociology) [internet]
- Write a Book Review
- Writing a Graduate Thesis or Dissertation [electronic resource]
- Writing ethnography [electronic resource]
- Writing for visual thinkers: a guide for artists and designers [electronic resource]
- Writing in sociology
- Writing in the social sciences : a guide for term papers and book reviews / Jake Muller.
- Writing the Research Paper (Video)
Citation searching is a technique to find scholarly clusters for a research topic. Take the citation for a key book or journal article and try to see who might have used that citation in their bibliography.
- Web of Science: A searchable, multidisciplinary suite of databases.
- Topic alerts - set up alerts in any category or sub-specialty and receive regular updates of the latest research.
- Citation Alerting -keep track of particular citations, to see if anyone is citing it in recent journals.
- You can set up a citation alert whenever you’re reading a full-text article by clicking on "Save as Citation Alert."
- How to do a Cited Reference Search tutorial [VIDEO 4 min 16 seconds]
- Google Scholar: Indexes peer reviewed articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other websites.
- For Cited Reference Search. Look at the link "cited by". Search for your "key" article. Check the link "cited by" right beneath the reference to that article
- "Citation alerts" to avoid an overload of irrelevant stuff, set up an alert on the page where you list out "cited references"; captures a "wider" range of journals and also includes "book chapters" etc.
- sshrc- list: Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council
- WatchThatPage: is a service that enables you to automatically collect new information from your favorite pages on the Internet
- Conference Alerts: Academic and professional conference listings by subject and region
- BrowZine: brings scholarly, academic journal content together from multiple publishers and platforms into a single place, where you can save your favorite journals, view the tables of contents, and read or save articles, as new issues are released
- Citation Management software: Zotero, Mendeley, EndNote...
- Learn how to use citation management software.
- Data & statistics information: locating statistical resources and information
- GIS (Geographic Information Systems): includes geospatial data and maps
- NVivo: a software package that helps with qualitative data analysis
- Scholarly publishing and open access: "Scholarly communication is the system through which research and other scholarly writings are created, evaluated for quality, disseminated to the scholarly community, and preserved for future use" - from Association of College & Research Libraries.
Grey Literature: defined as "information produced on all levels of government, academics, business and industry in electronic and print formats not controlled by commercial publishing" ie. where publishing is not the primary activity of the producing body." — ICGL Luxembourg definition, 1997. Expanded in New York, 2004
- Canadian Electronic Library from desLibris: Contains the full text of public policy documents from Canadian institutes, think-tanks and research groups
- Canadian Research Index: to find Canadian government publications
- IGO Search: IGO Search is a Google Custom Search Engine (CSE) that searches across IGO websites. It is a project of the International Documents Taskforce (IDTF) of the American Library Association (ALA)
Literature reviews and current awareness
- Annual Reviews: synthesize the vast amount of primary research literature and identify the principal contributions in each field.
- Dissertations and Theses Global: a comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present
- Dissertations and Theses@Carleton: Contains citations & abstracts for Carleton University Master’s and PhD theses as well as the full-text for theses from 1997-2013
- Carleton University's Institutional Repository: Open Access and other scholarly publications from Carleton University
- Oxford Bibliographies Online: is a tool for the social sciences and humanities