This subject guide will assist you in finding books, journal articles, and websites, as well as assist you in developing your research skills.
Welcome to the library subject guide for Software Engineering at Carleton University. Scroll down to the Reference Materials section to find encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks.
"A systematic approach to the analysis, design, implementation and maintenance of software. It often involves the use of CASE tools. There are various models of the software life-cycle, and many methodologies for the different phases." - from Dictionary.com (June, 2011)
Get background information from handbooks, encyclopedias, dictionaries.
A dictionary of computing [electronic resource]. / edited by John Daintith and Edmund Wright.
- Encyclopedia of human computer interaction [electronic resource] / [edited by] Claude Ghaoui.
- Encyclopedia of information science and technology. Vol. I-V [electronic resource] / Mehdi Khosrow-Pour, editor.
- The encyclopedia of multimedia technology and networking [electronic resource] / [edited by] Margherita Pagani.
- Software engineering handbook [electronic resource] / Jessica Keyes.
Once your topic is narrowly defined, select databases to find specific articles that have been published in journals.
- Academic OneFile
- Business Source Complete PEER REVIEWED
- Lecture Notes in Computer Science
- Oxford Reference (Online)
- SpringerLink Journals
- Web of Science Core Collection
- ACM transactions on computer systems.
- ACM transactions on embedded computing systems (TECS) [electronic resource]. PEER REVIEWED
- ACM transactions on graphics. Peer Reviewed
- ACM transactions on programming languages and systems. Peer Reviewed
- ACM transactions on software engineering and methodology. Peer Reviewed
- DOAJ -- Directory of Open Access Journals
- IEEE internet computing. Peer Reviewed
- IEEE software. Peer reviewed
- IEEE transactions on computers. PEER REVIEWED
- IEEE transactions on software engineering. PEER REVIEWED
- Information and Software Technology [electronic resource]. PEER REVIEWED
- Software: practice & experience. PEER REVIEWED
Find books on your topic to gain greater depth and understanding.
Find books on your topic to gain greater depth and understanding
- Books and Serials on Engineering Engineering are shelved at these locations in the Library of Congress system: QA76.75-76.765. New titles.
We welcome your suggestions for books or other library materials you need for your study or research at Carleton.
- Google Books >Software Engineering
Suggested Subject Headings:
- Analysis Techniques
- Biomedical Engineering
- Communication Systems
- Computer Systems
- Interactive Multimedia Systems
- Management of Engineering Processes
- Software Engineering
Fulltext eBook Collections:
- Publication Cycle (Engineering & Science): to find primary and secondary sources of information, use tertiary sources of information: dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks. When a researcher publishes material, they follow the cycle clockwise. To find primary and secondary sources, follow the cycle anti clockwise.
- Begin by defining exactly what you are searching for
- Select the keywords/synonyms in your topic
- Be specific when determining keywords/synonyms and terms to search
- Use the advanced interface of electronic databases and Internet search engines to help narrow your search
- Limit results in electronic databases to full-text or peer reviewed journals only
- Use Boolean Operators to connect search terms (Click for a brief explanation of Boolean Operators)
- Take notes during your research to keep track of where you have been, keywords searched, what worked and what didn't, etc.
- Google search secrets [electronic resource] / Christa Burns and Michael P. Sauers.
More Writing & Citing Resources:
Write down or store all the references you have consulted to include them in your bibliography of your research paper (e.g., Mendeley)
- Advice on Research and Writing From CMU, primarily for computer scientists
- IEEE Citation Style Guide
- Writing Services
- Writing Guidelines for Engineering and Science Students
- The Oxford guide to library research [electronic resource] / Thomas Mann.
- Annual Reviews Online Authoritative, analytic reviews in 34 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences. They synthesize the vast amount of primary research literature and identify the principal contributions in each field.