This subject guide will assist you in finding books, journal articles, and websites, as well as assist you in developing your research skills.
Step #1: Get background information from handbooks, encyclopedias, dictionaries.
- Encyclopedia of solid earth geophysics [electronic resource] / edited by Harsh Gupta.
- Encyclopedia of energy [electronic resource] / editor-in-chief, Cutler J. Cleveland ; associate editors, Robert U. Ayres ... [et al.].
- Fossil Energy [electronic resource] : Selected Entries from the Encyclopedia of Sustainability Science and Technology / edited by Ripudaman Malhotra.
- Handbook of Green Building Design and Construction, 2nd Edition [electronic resource] / Sam Kubba, Ph.D., LEED AP.
- Sustainable Consumption and Production [electronic resource]: A Handbook for Policymakers (Global Edition) / UNEP
- Publication Cycle (Engineering & Science): to find primary and secondary sources of information, use tertiary sources of information: dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks. When a researcher publishes material, they follow the cycle clockwise. To find primary and secondary sources, follow the cycle anti clockwise.
- Begin by defining exactly what you are searching for
- Select the keywords/synonyms in your topic
- Be specific when determining keywords/synonyms and terms to search
- Use the advanced interface of electronic databases and Internet search engines to help narrow your search
- Limit results in electronic databases to full-text or peer reviewed journals only
- Use Boolean Operators to connect search terms
- Take notes during your research to keep track of where you have been, keywords searched, what worked and what didn't, etc.
- Google search secrets [electronic resource] / Christa Burns and Michael P. Sauers.
Step #2: Once your topic is narrowly defined, select databases to find specific articles that have been published in journals.
- EI Engineering Village
- IEEE Xplore Digital Library
- Annual review of nuclear and particle science [electronic resource]. PEER REVIEWED
- Environmental science and pollution research international PEER REVIEWED
- Geothermics Peer Reviewed
- IET renewable power generation [electronic resource]. PEER REVIEWED
- International journal of sustainable energy [electronic resource]. PEER REVIEWED
- Journal of energy & natural resources law PEER REVIEWED
- PV status report
- Renewable and Sustainable Energy Reviews [electronic resource]. Peer Reviewed
- Renewable Energy [electronic resource]. PEER REVIEWED
- Renewable Energy Focus PEER REVIEWED
- Wind engineering [electronic resource]. PEER REVIEWED
- World energy outlook
Step #3: Find books on your topic to gain greater depth and understanding.
Books and Serials on Renewable Energy are shelved at these locations in the Library of Congress system:
- Renewable energy sources TJ807- TJ830 New titles
- Solar power plants TK1056 .S6
- Wind energy TK1541
- Photovoltaic power generation TK2960
- Hydrogen as fuel TP359.H8
We welcome your suggestions for books or other library materials you need for your study or research at Carleton.
Google Books >Sustainable and Renewable Energy
- Energy efficiency and renewable energy through nanotechnology [electronic resource] / Ling Zang, editor.
- Green energy [electronic resource] : sustainable electricity supply with low environmental impact / Eric Jeffs
Suggested Subject Headings:
- Energy conservation
- Energy consumption
- Photovoltaic cells
- Renewable energy sources
- Solar energy
- Tidal power
- Water power
- Wind power
Fulltext eBook Collections:
Step #4: Write down or store all the references you have consulted to include them in your bibliography of your research paper (e.g., Mendeley)
- Advice on Research and Writing
- IEEE Citation Style Guide
- Writing Guidelines for Engineering and Science Students
- Writing Services
- Annual Reviews Online / Authoritative, analytic reviews in 34 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences. They synthesize the vast amount of primary research literature and identify the principal contributions in each field.
- The Oxford guide to library research [electronic resource] / Thomas Mann.
- Selected Links to Resources on Writing a Literature Review [internet]