This guide is meant for self service. If at any time during the research process, should you feel the need for research support, then email me. We will arrange a convenient time to get together on Zoom, and other platforms.
The research process
- Get background information from handbooks, encyclopedias, dictionaries
- Once your topic is narrowly defined, select databases to find specific articles that have been published in journals
- Look for films and images as non-literary forms of representation
- Find books on your topic to gain greater depth and understanding
- examples: Library research
- Write down or store all the references you have consulted to include them in the bibliography of your research paper
- examples: Mendeley,
- Begin by defining exactly what you are searching for
- Select the keywords/synonyms/antonyms in your topic
- Be specific when determining keywords/synonyms/antonyms and terms to search
- Use the advanced interface of electronic databases and Internet search engines to help narrow your search
- Limit results in electronic databases to full-text or peer reviewed journals only
- Use Boolean Operators to connect search terms by understanding how search engines operate
- Google search secrets [electronic resource] / Christa Burns and Michael P. Sauers
- Take notes during your research to keep track of where you have been, keywords searched, what worked and what didn't, etc.
Sources of information
Publication Cycle: to find primary and secondary sources of information, use tertiary sources of information: dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks. When a researcher publishes material, they follow the cycle clockwise. To find primary and secondary sources, follow the cycle anti clockwise.
OMNI: the Carleton University Library search portal. Please see Help With Using Omni
Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH) use controlled vocabulary to access and express the subject content of documents. Computer systems engineering has largely been divided into the following subjects or research areas. This is a searchable index. Click on a link below to discover the Library's holdings in this area:
- Add keywords
- Use the filters on the left of the resulting screen
- Typical filters are Available Online and Peer Reviewed Journals
- Applied sciences
- Artificial intelligence
- Circuits and systems
- Computer communication networks
- Computer engineering
- Computer engineering--Computer hardware
- Computer science
- Electrical computer engineering
- Electrical engineering
- Electronic and computer engineering
- Engineering--Applied sciences
- Engineering--Electrical and electronic
- Physical sciences
- Reliability engineering
- Science and technology
- Systems engineering
- Systems engineering and theory
Databases tagged 'Computer Systems Engineering'
Databases by 'Type'
Online journals by 'Subject'
Other suggested databases:
- Business Source Complete: Business Source Complete is a scholarly business database. It provides full-text access as well as indexing and abstracting for journals dating back as far as 1886. PEER REVIEWED
- Dissertations and Theses Global: ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global is a comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present. PQDT Global includes theses from Great Britain and Ireland.
- Lecture Notes in Computer Science: A collection of books, reporting new developments in all areas of computer science and information technology
- SAGE Knowledge Encyclopedias: Carleton subscribes to the 2011 Encyclopedia Collection which provides perpetual access to 27 encyclopedias in the social sciences published between 2005-2011, as well as some other encyclopedias which have been ordered individually. Browse by Content Type: "Encyclopedias" and/or "Handbooks".
- SAGE Research Methods: With information on the full range of qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods for the social and behavioral sciences, as well as methods commonly used in the hard sciences, the book, reference, and journal content in SAGE Research Methods helps researchers of all levels conduct their research.
- Cases: Cases are peer-reviewed and come with pedagogical tools including learning objectives and discussions questions
- Datasets: Datasets is a collection of teaching datasets and instructional guides that give students a chance to learn data analysis by practicing themselves
- Video: Video contains more than 125 hours of video, including tutorials, case study videos, expert interviews, and more, covering the entire research methods and statistics curriculum
- Science.gov: Science.gov is a gateway to government science information and research results.
- The SAGE handbook of applied social research methods Bickman, Leonard, 1941- editor.; Rog, Debra J., editor.; Best, Samuel J., contributor. 2009 [electronic resource]
- How to Read a Book, v5.0 School of Information University of Michigan
- How to Read a Paragraph: The Art of Close Reading
- How to Read (and Understand) a Social Science Journal Article: Tips and tricks to make reading and understanding social science journal articles easier
- How to Read for Grad School Miriam E. Sweeney
- READ LIKE A GRADUATE STUDENT, NOT A MYSTERY FAN William Doane
Minecraft (Education Edition) is free for Carleton students
Just download the installer from the link below (for Windows 10): https://education.minecraft.net/get-started/alternative-download/
After install, launch the game and log in using your Carleton email address (cmail) and password then you're good to go.
- COVID-19 Updates & Changes to Library Services
- Library memo re: students’ concerns regarding Library Access during COVID 19
- Library news stream