This subject guide will assist you in finding books, journal articles, and websites, as well as assist you in developing your research skills.
Step #1: Get background information from handbooks, encyclopedias, dictionaries.
- Internetworking technologies handbook [electronic resource] / Cisco Systems, et al.
- Microsoft Windows 2000 Server internetworking guide [electronic resource] / [by Microsoft Corporation] ; project editor, Maureen Williams Zimmerman ; technical writing lead, Martin DelRe.
- Publication Cycle (Engineering & Science): to find primary and secondary sources of information, use tertiary sources of information: dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks. When a researcher publishes material, they follow the cycle clockwise. To find primary and secondary sources, follow the cycle anti clockwise.
- Begin by defining exactly what you are searching for.
- Select the keywords/synonyms in your topic
- Be specific when determining keywords/synonyms and terms to search
- Use the advanced interface of electronic databases and Internet search engines to help narrow your search
- Limit results in electronic databases to full-text or peer reviewed journals only
- Use Boolean Operators to connect search terms
- Take notes during your research to keep track of where you have been, keywords searched, what worked and what didn't, etc.
- Google search secrets [electronic resource] / Christa Burns and Michael P. Sauers.
Step #2: Once your topic is narrowly defined, select databases to find specific articles that have been published in journals.
- ACM Digital Library
- Google Scholar
- LexisNexis Academic
- Georisk [electronic resource] : assessment and management of risk for engineered systems and geohazards
- ACM transactions on storage [electronic resource]. PEER REVIEWED
- Nexus network journal [electronic resource]. PEER REVIEWED
- Cable and satellite television industry [electronic resource] / Statistics Canada, Science, Innovation and Electronic Information Division.
- AI EDAM [electronic resource] : Artificial intelligence for engineering design, analysis and manufacturing.
Step #3: Find books on your topic to gain greater depth and understanding.
Books and Serials on Computer Science are shelved at these locations in the Library of Congress system:
- Library of Congress Classification Outline:
- CLASS HB, HD, HE, HF, HG - SOCIAL SCIENCES
- CLASS Q, QA, QC - SCIENCE
- CLASS T, TA, TJ, TK, TS - TECHNOLOGY
We welcome your suggestions for books or other library materials you need for your study or research at Carleton.
Google Books >Technology Innovation Management
- Competing in the age of digital convergence [electronic resource] / edited by David B. Yoffie.
- Developing and managing engineering procedures [electronic resource] : concepts and applications / by Phillip A. Cloud.
- Engineering project management [electronic resource] : the IPQMS method and case histories / Louis J. Goodman and Rufino S. Ignacio.
- Entrepreneurship for engineers [electronic resource] / Kenji Uchino.
- Telecommunications service in Canada : an industry overview, 1999-2000 [electronic resource].
- Telecommunications pocket reference [electronic resource] / Travis Russell.
- The business of bioscience [electronic resource] : what goes into making a biotechnology product / Craig D. Shimasaki.
- The commercial engineer's desktop guide [electronic resource] / Tim Boyce.
- The little data book on information and communication technology [electronic resource].
- The new McGraw-Hill telecom factbook, second edition [electronic resource] / Joseph A. Pecar, David A. Garbin.
- Value-added services for next generation networks [electronic resource] / Thierry Van de Velde.
- What every engineer should know about starting a high-tech business venture [electronic resource] / Eric Koester.
Suggested Subject Headings:
- Communication and technology
- Design and Management Processes and Engineering
- Digital divide
- Human engineering -- Handbooks, manuals, etc.
- Information technology Social aspects
- Knowledge management
- Manufacturing Systems Analysis
- Network Design
- Project Management and Engineering
- Protocols and Performance
- Software Engineering
- Technological innovations -- Management
- Technology and civilization
- Wireless and Satellite Communications
Fulltext eBook Collections:
Step #4: Write down or store all the references you have consulted to include them in your bibliography of your research paper (e.g., Mendeley)
- Advice on Research and Writing
- IEEE Citation Style Guide
- Citing Electronic Resources
- Centre for Student Academic Support (CSAS)
- Science and technology research : writing strategies for students / Tina M. Neville, Deborah B. Henry, Bruce D. Neville.
- Writing Guidelines for Engineering and Science Students
- The craft of editing : a guide for managers, scientists, and engineers / Michael Alley.
- Annual Reviews Online Authoritative, analytic reviews in 34 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences. They synthesize the vast amount of primary research literature and identify the principal contributions in each field.
- The Oxford guide to library research [electronic resource] / Thomas Mann.
- Selected Links to Resources on Writing a Literature Review [internet]