Disciplinary

  • Gender Studies Database
    all aspects of Women's and Gender Studies; start with this database first!
  • Sociological Abstracts
    Sociology deals with social issues at the intersection of gender and other social indicators, such as race, ethnicity, socioeconomic status.

 

General Social Sciences

Consider for the intersection of women/females/girls and other social sciences, such as Anthropology or Psychology

Other

Also remember to search databases from other disciplines for women/girl/feminist issues within those disciplines.  

  1. Select suggested databases from the "databases" section of a subject guide for the discipline.
  2. Select from a list of databases that have been tagged as having content relevant to that discipline.

For example:

Also consider noncommercial databases compiled by scholars, such as

Here are key journals having to do with the discipline of Women's Studies.  For other gender-based journal titles, please see the Gender Studies subject guide.

Bibliographies and Guides to the Literature

To find other bibliographies, consult the Books tab.  Also construct a SUBJECT HEADING search in the catalogue by adding --Bibliography to any valid subject heading.  For instance:

Biographies

Try a "fielded keyword search" in the catalogue, looking for "biography" in the subject headings.  Prefix the keywords with s: to indicate that the field should be found in the subject headings (for other fielded keyword searches, consult the help in the catalogue).  Add to the search your other desired criteria.  For instance, s:biography AND s:women AND (dictionar* or encyclop*)

Dictionaries

Encyclopedias

Indexes and Abstracts

Also consult relevant index and abstract databases, such as:

Archives

There is material concerning gender in fonds in Archives and Research Collections.  Try a search in the archival collections.

Also consider:

Primary Sources

Contact the Maps, Data, and Government Information Centre (MADGIC) for help finding relevant material.  Below are examples of what is available.

Government Information

Search the Canadian Public Policy Collection for ebooks of government reports.

Government Information Databases

Maps and Atlases

Statistical Data

Try a fielded keyword search in the Library catalogue, looking for women and statistics in subject headings: s:women and s:statistics

Reports

International Organizations

Related

This is a selection of videos on women's and feminist issues from our collection.  Scroll to the bottom for a list of relevant TEDTalks.

To find other videos, conduct a keyword search in the Library catalogue, changing "Entire Collection" to Videos.  For instance, s:wom* OR s:fem* OR s:girl*

Documentaries

TEDTalks